Scoot Commute

Rice-o-Rama 2012 … Jap bike heaven!

September 9, 2012

Rice-o-Rama! All the pics

Parking the XL600V (Honda Transalp) and DR350SE (aka Garda)

Parking the XL600V (Honda Transalp) and DR350SE (aka Garda)

For those not in the know, Rice-o-Rama is a big vintage Japanese bike show in New England, but really, I go for the swap meet and to meet up with friends. I’ve been going since the second year (where we won “Best Scooter”, oh yeeeah!), and this was the first year it was moved to a new location, the Singletary Rod & Gun Club in Oxford, MA.

Laverda parked right behind us ... ugh! Love the Laverdas

Laverda parked right behind us … ugh! Love the Laverdas

As for the new location, not a fan except for the nice ride to the place. It seemed to spread out, the little building that had proper bathrooms was hidden too far away, and there was no shelter from the sun. The original place in Brookfield has a really nice covered area where the bikes were displayed, and I really missed that today (as I didn’t bring sunblock, aaaargh, you should see my face!).

Hi-Viz SportBike Guy without a helmet! Who the hell are you?!

Hi-Viz SportBike Guy without a helmet! Who the hell are you?!

What can I say?

Well, the show didn’t have that many entries, I think because the weather wasn’t so nice this morning, although it got better as the day passed.

The swap meet? Pretty good. Loads and loads of carbs and fenders. Some nice, cheap bikes for sale. I just like to walk around and chat with everyone.

CS5 Yamaha in purple & white, a girl's wet dream

CS5 Yamaha in purple & white, a girl’s wet dream

Got to catch up with Dave and Dewyn (hi-viz sport guy) and a bunch of the guys from ADV. I was happy that everyone seems to think the DR350 is a good choice. I can say this…I love this freaking bike but boy, does it need some going through. The suspension is all messed up so I can’t wait to mess around with it.

KTM Duke 620 with Electric Start (beautiful LC4 engine)

KTM Duke 620 with Electric Start (beautiful LC4 engine)

I love RiceoRama. I fell in love with a CL125A. I’m talking myself out of it.

Rogue Suzuki hanging out with old Honda bikes

Rogue Suzuki hanging out with old Honda bikes

I will own a BSA one day

I will own a BSA one day

Bimota

Bimota, oh Bimota, oh Bimota

Norton Commando in the parking lot

Norton Commando in the parking lot

Two Stroke Hotness, CR 250R, too pristine for me, but oh my god!

Two Stroke Hotness, CR 250R, too pristine for me, but oh my god!

Retahd'd Honda Turbo, are you kidding me? I love this bike!

Retahd’d Honda Turbo, are you kidding me? I love this bike!
I'm not a fan of the cafe thing, but oh my, the turq & gold get me every time, every time

I’m not a fan of the cafe thing, but oh my, the turq & gold get me every time, every time

Suzuki GT250 hotness, love me a 'zuki wee bike!

Suzuki GT250 hotness, love me a ‘zuki wee bike!
Obligatory Mad Max Bike

Obligatory Mad Max Bike

The 90cc to 50cc class at 2012 Riceorama ... ahhh, I think I need me a wee Suzuki

The 90cc to 50cc class at 2012 Riceorama … ahhh, I think I need me a wee Suzuki

1967 Honda CL125A redone ... I want this bike

1967 Honda CL125A redone … I want this bike

The ride back to PVD, oh how we suffered on the crappy back roads, don't come to Rhode Island

The ride back to PVD, oh how we suffered on the crappy back roads, don’t come to Rhode Island

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gary said, on 2013/09/06 at 11:33 am

    I had a Honda 90, the same model nd color as the one 3rd photo from the bottom. In 1968 I took it on 3,400 road trip. I loved that bike. It could do 72 MPH if I did a superman with my feet straight back.


Leave a comment