Scoot Commute

Rain and cold and dark…can winter be far behind?

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/10/27

Absolutely FANTASTIC ride home tonight? Why, you may ask? Whelp, ‘cos I had a couple of errands to run so they added miles and it’s frigging freezing out. Just add darkness, lots of wind and rain, and tired, bored, angry commuters.

Oh, did I mention I had two dozens eggs in the pet carrier with no padding as I rode through the Jewelry District, notorious for its torn up, potholed streets due to the relocation of I-195. And yeah, my visor was so fogged up I gave up and rode with it up and let the rain on my glasses.

Still no Halloween costume for the CNR. Oh well, only so much time in the day.

Good way to freak out drivers…stand up as you ride along Canal Street. It was as if I had no one behind me.

Wha? Huh? I can't see anything!

Wha? Huh? I can't see anything!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Itsuke said, on 2011/10/28 at 10:36 am

    Nothing beats a cold and rainy ride on a scooter~~ Glad you made it back safe~

    • sbahn said, on 2011/10/30 at 5:31 pm

      Thanks for the kind thoughts…I so love riding in the rain and it was such a good ride!

  2. Linda B said, on 2011/10/29 at 9:41 pm

    I found your blog on modern buddy. Enjoy your blog.
    FYI -I just rebuilt 2 honda CT90’s- 73 and 79. They are a blast!!!
    A fellow rhod- eye- landah.

    • sbahn said, on 2011/10/30 at 5:31 pm

      Thanks for checking in! I love, love, love my sweet CT90 as the boyfriend does his. We’ll have to meet up.

  3. SusanA said, on 2011/11/25 at 11:05 am

    Love your jacket! Is that the Olympia? I have a similar one. I ride in Memphis, but I love Li’l Rhody and get up there as often as possible. My black Vespa 150 LX is Odetta (she of the sweet bechromedness). Meep, meep!

    • sbahn said, on 2011/11/25 at 9:06 pm

      Hey, thanks for visiting. Yes, that jacket is the Olympia AST (version 1). I love it but it’s no longer waterproof as it leaks through the arm zips…can’t complain after 3 years of daily wear having gotten it used from a guy whose wife didn’t like riding. I’d get another if I wasn’t saving for a Rukka.

      I can’t believe someone likes to visit little Rhody ;)


Leave a comment