Scoot Commute

Adaptation

Posted in Uncategorized by cheesebot on 2014/12/13

At the services last Friday it was pointed out to me by one of sbahn’s coworkers that her last picture added to flickr was oddly coincidental.  I’d been so busy with everything else going on that I didn’t even realize.

Yeah, it’s a little spooky in retrospect but the explanation is that she went out looking to grab a tag on advrider.  She was unable to locate it but, as always, documented the search nevertheless.  For the record she was cremated (as per her wishes) and not buried in a cemetery.  I just remembered how we always pronounced the word “buried” very differently.  She pronounced the initial “bur” as in “burrow” but I said it like “berries”, as in “berried”.  She picked on me for it – she’s probably right.  I always let her win anyway.  We both have linguistics degrees so who can say.

The memorial service given by Providence College was way beyond anything I could have expected.  The outpouring of emotions and sympathy was overwhelming.  The chapel was standing room only and it was obvious how many people had been affected by this loss.  Personally, it was a whirlwind of emotions and activity and I am having trouble remembering it just a week later.

I rode Franz and enlisted our good friend tmlee to ride the new Husqvarna to the services.

I got permission to park the bikes on either side of the entrance to the reception following the memorial service.

I got the feeling that everyone appreciated this.  She was known on campus (and on this blog) for riding her bikes to work year round.  As soon as the service ended both bikes were surrounded by friends and family; touching, examining, remembering.

As I said, I can hardly remember much from that day.  We, the family, went out to Trinity for dinner the night before where they had introduced a new stout.

and I successfully exposed my much younger brother to the finer points of single malt Scotch whisky.

I just wish she were here to see all of this – I know it’s a cliché.  I hope she would say I was going a good job.

I cannot thank everyone enough for the kind words I’ve been given.  Whether in writing, in person, or over the telephone (I hate the phone) it’s evident how important she was to everyone.  Whether you know both of us, her and not me, me and not her, or neither of us personally (the internet is a funny thing) I hear and read your words.  I know there are various threads on several forums.  You have my thanks.

I don’t know where I’m headed or what the future holds for me.  I’m going to do my best to lead my life as she would have wanted.  I’m going to keep riding, finish the various unfinished ride reports (I know, right?) because I was usually there, and continue this blog as best I can.

On that note; my commute is a bit different than hers.  My job is twelve miles from home and since I usually have to hop on the highway for a bit I don’t ride as much as she did during the cold season.  I apologize in advance for this.  I did have to buy a new car and I’ll probably be using that for a little while but whenever I take a bike I’m sure I’ll have something to say about it.

Please be careful out there and give thanks for what you have, every day.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joe said, on 2014/12/21 at 7:06 pm

    Thanks for posting. May God be your strength through your time of healing. My prayers go out to you and your family.


Leave a Reply

