Scoot Commute

Lost in Central Falls (again)

Posted in Daily Commute, Honda Elite 250 CH250 (1986) by sbahn on 2014/04/09

I had to attend a funeral in Leominster, Massachusetts this morning. And I didn’t fancy getting myself there alone. A colleague at work was kind enough to offer to drive us with the catch that I had to get myself to his house in North Attleborough / Attleboro, MA.

Honda Elite 250 in Attleboro MA at Adam's house

Honda Elite 250 in Attleboro MA at Adam’s house

No problem, my trusty Honda Elite 250 will zip me through Providence on I-95, and then off onto secondary roads through the Bucket and into Massachusetts. I didn’t reckon the traffic would be as heavy. Why are drivers so nonchalant in the morning. Move it! already.

Left PVD at 7:33AM and walked into his kitchen at 8:13AM (that was after wandering around a bit not knowing which door to knock on and completely missing the note he left me on the door).

What an awesome dog he has! And I didn’t get a picture of Jazzy. I’m in love … German Shorthair Pointer.

Doesn't everyone have a Dungeons & Dragons arcade game in their family room?

Doesn’t everyone have a Dungeons & Dragons arcade game in their family room?

After returning to North Attleboro, he and another colleague drove to campus in one of those car things while I prepared to ride the scooter, analog GPS taped to the windshield.

I really don’t know what is wrong with me, directions-wise. I’m always lost. And I do pay attention to landmarks and stuff. At one point, I made a left instead of a right and wound up back on the same road I had turned off of about 10 minutes prior.

I retraced my route back to the mistake and headed right this time. Things seemed fine as I passed a “Welcome to Rhode Island” sign. Ahh, back in the Ocean State.

Then things got messed up because I stupidly used “R at CVS” as a direction.

In New England, here are things to NOT use as landmarks.

  • White, steepled churches
  • Dunkin’ Donuts
  • CVS
Analog GPS let me down ... again

Analog GPS let me down … again

I must have passed three different CVS stores and became very confused WHICH right I was supposed to take.

My mistake, and in my defence, it’s not really a mistake, as the right I thought I should take was a one-way in the opposite direction (in other words, I couldn’t actually take the right).

Which leads us to the real issue.

Central Falls and Pawtucket, what is up with all the freakin’ one ways?!

When I realized I was, yet again, lost in Central Falls, I just resigned myself for the slow slog through the one square mile town, knowing I would be dumped out into the Bucket, which of course terrified me.

I’ve never not been lost in Pawtucket.

“Please, please let there be signs for I-95,” I thought, begged, to myself.

And there were! And more alarmingly, they actually led me to I-95. The wind had really picked up as I entered the highway but the mighty Honda Elite soldiered along, hitting 61 on the digital dash. Take that, CBR 600s!

I made it to campus safe & sound, where I learned that my car-driving colleagues were wondering if I would arrive before them. How cute.

Never one to waste, the morning's analog GPS on the other side of the afternoon directions

Never one to waste, the morning’s analog GPS on the other side of the afternoon directions

Leave a Reply

