Scoot Commute

NERCOMP 2014 is ovah!

Posted in Daily Commute, Honda Elite 250 CH250 (1986) by sbahn on 2014/03/26

I spent this Tuesday and Wednesday at the annual NERCOMP conference, conveniently located at the Providence Convention Center. I rode the Honda Elite both days, parking it safely next to Trinity Brewhouse.

This morning greeted me with gale-force winds. I really should have switched out scoots so I could have taken the Buddy (which doesn’t have a windscreen), but I labored down Broad Street to the convention center on the Elite with his GIANT windscreen.

Truly an amazing ride as I couldn’t predict when the gusts would strike from side streets or between buildings. At one point I used a RIPTA bus to block the wind at the cemetery. Thankfully there was only once when I got blown so hard to the left that I touched the center line. There was a lot of brake covering and shifting of my body weight.

Honda Elite and Waste Management dumpster at Trinity Brewhouse, Providence, RI

Honda Elite and Waste Management dumpster at Trinity Brewhouse, Providence, RI

Oh, and the conference presentation I did with two of my colleagues went really well (if I do say so myself).

Leave a Reply

