Scoot Commute

St. Patrick’s Day Scooter Commuting

Posted in Daily Commute, Honda Elite 250 CH250 (1986) by sbahn on 2014/03/17
Honda Elite 250 with Irish Tricolour

Honda Elite 250 with Irish Tricolour

As I’m walking down the hallway to the stairwell to head home, I hear a really soppy rendition of “Danny Boy” blaring out of one of the offices. One of the student workers is leaned over a windowsill, looking out the window, while the other has a fixed gaze looking at nothing.

“What’s going on guys?” I asked.

“We’re drowning our sorrows.”

“Why? Cos spring break is over?”

The kid at the window turns around, and looks at me like I’m a complete idiot. “No, it’s because we’re at work.” Silly me for thinking they got it all out of their system over the weekend.

We then discussed which was more fun to attend, funerals or weddings. “Oh funerals, definitely,” I chirped. They thought this was weird. Ahh, youth.

Only two annoying drivers on the way home; not enough to get me to raise my voice. But it is cold. 4F windchill on the ride in this morning. When will winter cease to be? That’s a funeral I will most definitely enjoy attending.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mary C. said, on 2014/03/17 at 5:54 pm

    They’ve clearly never been to the sort of funeral my family hosts. We get all the sad out of the way at the wake and then throw a party to make the poor sod in the box wish they were there.

    • sbahn said, on 2014/03/17 at 6:05 pm

      Exactly! The wake is the sad part, then bring on the celebration of life. One of them finally admitted to me he’s never been to a wedding; he’s attending his first this summer in, of all places, Ireland so he’ll have a completely skewed opinion. Irish weddings are awesome.


Leave a Reply

