Scoot Commute

Warm Day, Warm Day, Warm Day — Honda Elite at Rhode Island’s Highest Point

Posted in Honda Elite 250 CH250 (1986), Pleasure Ride by sbahn on 2014/03/08

Don’t get too excited, it’s only 812 feet.

Honda Elite CH250 at Jerimoth Hill, Rhode Island

Honda Elite CH250 at Jerimoth Hill, Rhode Island

Rode a 66 mile loop today from PVD out to Putnam, Connecticut and then back into Providence.  What a niiiiiiice day.

I rode 101 out toward CT which consists of a series of hills, up and down, up and down. The cars were few, and the one following me kept a good distance. Chugging up one hill I noticed my friendly follower getting a bit closer so I thought to give John Player (the CH250) a bit more throttle, only to discover I was already pinned. I watched the digital dash read 58 – 56 – 54 – 53 as we chugged up the hill. Time to take a look at the weight of the rollers.

Rhode Island can't even keep the sign of its highest point in good condition

Rhode Island can’t even keep the sign of its highest point in good condition

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sdizzy777 said, on 2014/03/11 at 10:14 am

    Excellent, I really thought about going there Saturday, but starting getting chilly after the reservoir . I’ve been thinking about how many state high points one could bag on 2 wheels. MA/NH no problem, technically I think the true top of Jermoith hill if off into the woods there but close enough. NJ has a road to theirs too. Not sure the the road goes to the top of Mt Mansfield in VT, I don’t recall seeing cars when I was up there. The new brewery in Putnam, The Crossing, is FANTASTIC

    • sbahn said, on 2014/03/14 at 2:42 pm

      That’s where we went, the Crossing!
      As for high points, you’re right, the marker for Jerimoth is off in woods. I’ve visited a few times, once taking two complete (male) strangers who pulled up by the side of the road in with me. About halfway in I thought, hmmm, this may not end well.

      Bikes are not allowed on the Mt Mansfield (VT) road (probably because someone did something stupid in the past).

      Oh, but you can almost ride to the exact highpoint in WV. Did that a couple of years ago. If you haven’t ridden in West Virginia, you need to. The road surfaces are like glass and the only straightaway in the entire state is at the airport.

  2. Walter said, on 2014/04/25 at 10:09 am

    I just found this site while looking @ images of this bike.. I too have one & I love it!! We should get a bunch of us together & go for a joy ride.. Mine is also an ’86 and could be this one’s twin!! (I’ve got about 7800 miles on mine..) It’s a great toy.. Enjoy your riding & I’ll keep looking for you..
    ~Walter..
    scootah29@hotmail.com

    • sbahn said, on 2014/04/26 at 2:01 pm

      Yeah, it’s definitely fun. But yesterday I used the Buddy for commuting for the first time in awhile, and it makes the Elite feel like a huge, heavy bike. I do love the black & gold color combo.


Leave a Reply

