Scoot Commute

Really winter? Today was supposed to be a light dusting, not inches of heavy, slushy snow

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2014/02/03

Fourth day of jury duty and it snowed all day long. I watched it out the window. Wonder what greeted me at 5pm?

Buddy scooter covered in snow waiting for me at the end of a long day of jury duty

Buddy scooter covered in snow waiting for me at the end of a long day of jury duty

Because I was already downtown, I stopped by the credit union. As I’m walking out onto the sidewalk, three people walk by, probably Johnson & Wales students, and one guys says, “Look at that. That’s some crazy shit in this snow.” I walked over behind them, helmet chinbar up because I was just in a bank, and the three of them just stared at me. I got to feel a little bit badass.

Ride home was pretty uneventful. Lost the rear a bunch of times, including once on what I thought was clear pavement. My street was a scary, frightening solid pack of frozen slush, as was part of the driveway.

Rear wheel slippage in the snow

Rear wheel slippage in the snow

Even with my feet down, I struggled to get the Buddy scooter through this snow slush muck

Even with my feet down, I struggled to get the Buddy scooter through this snow slush muck

Lunchtime on jury duty

First Unitarian Church on Benevolent Street, Providence in the snow

First Unitarian Church on Benevolent Street, Providence in the snow

Leave a Reply

