Scoot Commute

What?! A motorcycle, today?

Posted in Daily Commute by sbahn on 2014/01/30

Still on jury duty, I took the opportunity at the lunch break to take a quick walk outside despite the freezing temps because all I did in the morning was sit and read motorcycle magazines (including a review of that new Super Duke, at which I think I made some ‘gaaah gaaah gaaah’ noises and drew unnecessary attention).

Providence River with ice

Providence River with ice

Actually today was warm, mid-20sF! As I’m walking over the river, having just taken a snap of the partially frozen river, I hear the familiar sounds of a Honda Nighthawk. [You spend hours on hot tarmac teaching an MSF class and you’ll know that sound in your sleep.]

Wha? Wha? It took me at least 2 seconds to hear, see, and compute. That’s a guy on a motorcycle! I couldn’t believe it. Yesterday it snowed, the temps were not predicted to get out of the mid-twenties Fahrenheit today, and there were still spots on the streets with frozen chunks of slush, melted and refrozen ice, and frozen lines of whatever drips outta cars.

It was very reassuring knowing that I’m not crazy.

Click the pic to see details of a crazy motorcyclist riding up Washington Street in Providence, RI on a freezing cold day in January 2014

Click the pic to see details of a crazy motorcyclist riding up Washington Street in Providence, RI on a freezing cold day in January 2014

And finally, another SHOUT OUT to another RIPTA bus driver, this time the #11 around 4:30pm on Broad Street. Thanks for giving me the signal to take the left across your right-of-way. I’m really feeling the love of the RIPTA drivers lately.

Leave a Reply

