Scoot Commute

First ride to work, 2014, blizzard be damned

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2014/01/03
First commute out of the new garage

First commute out of the new garage

Probably the most difficult commute I’ve ever done, Thursday, January 2nd, I rode the Genuine Buddy scooter despite the impending blizzard. Some forecasts predicted it wouldn’t really snow that much until later in the afternoon/early evening, with most forecasts calling for about 3 inches on the ground throughout the day.

I actually dropped the bike on Huxley Avenue, just after turning onto it from Eaton Street…a mere .2 miles from my destination. Luckily the car behind me, also making the turn, took it very slowly and saw the rear wheel go out.

Getting ready to ride out, hi-viz absolutely necessary in the snow

Getting ready to ride out, hi-viz absolutely necessary in the snow

I figured those 3 inches would be melty/slushy stuff for the ride home, but I failed to factor in the temps not getting out of the teens. FISHTAIL-pa-looza!

Feet up on the floorboards of the Buddy scooter in an inch & a half of snow, probably would have been smarter to take the knobby-tired DR350

Feet up on the floorboards of the Buddy scooter in an inch & a half of snow, probably would have been smarter to take the knobby-tired DR350

I was so tired by the time I got home from riding 35 minutes on pure adrenaline, I curled up and took a nap on the couch.

Riding down the street, it's gotta be clearer on the main streets

Riding down the street, it’s gotta be clearer on the main streets

No pics from the ride home, but trust me, it was really, really scary.

Leave a Reply

