Scoot Commute

What a good morning commute, or I saw two bikes today!

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2013/12/03

I really don’t believe it. I saw two bikes on my commute. Today. 37F when I left the house.

I left later than usual because I didn’t want to get up this morning. It was dark and grey. I even said to the boyfriend, “Why is it so grey out?” and his response was “Winter in New England.” Oh yeah, right. Why did I move here again?

It was an easy commute, and I even saw, *gasp* TWO motorbikes on the commute. That’s pretty amazing because:

  1. I never see anyone on the commute on two wheels
  2. It was 37F when I left this morning
  3. One of the bikes was  a Harley

I’m riding toward Eagle Square on Atwells Ave and I see a black guy on a black unknown scoot. He wasn’t wearing a helmet, but was bundled up and a “where’s Waldo?” type of acrylic knit cap donned his head. I gave a fist pump, ‘cos really, a scooter rider in 37F?! He fist-pumped back.

Within seconds of the scooter rider passing, I saw a Harley with Harley dude at the gas station (the 7-11 at the corner of Harris & Atwells). He had a neck gaiter pulled up over his chin, mouth and nose, but no helmet. Because, of course, that would be too inconvenient. I will never understand. Naturally, not a nod of recognition. FU cop, ‘cos only a cop is riding a fucking Harley in this weather. Thanks for locating my stolen DRZ. Ride back to B’ville and leave us city-scum to roast in our own juices.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HiViz Sportbike Guy said, on 2013/12/04 at 7:56 am

    I’m back to cummuting on 2 now that I put the FJR back together after I low-sided it 2 weeks ago. I rode over a polished man-hole cover with cold tires and too much throttle and down we went. minor damage to the both of us. Ride on!

    • sbahn said, on 2013/12/04 at 6:22 pm

      Yah, he’s baaaaaack!


Leave a Reply

