Scoot Commute

CCRI Rider Coaches at Cycle Gear Grand Opening in Warwick, RI

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), MSF RiderCoach by sbahn on 2013/11/24
Anthony hamming it up at the RIREP table

Anthony hamming it up at the RIREP table

Yesterday was the grand opening of a Cycle Gear in Warwick, Rhode Island, the first in the state. They’d done a soft open a couple of weeks ago, but this weekend was the official opening.

I was asked to represent the Rhode Island Rider Education Program with a table to distribute information about our basic rider course, experience rider course and advanced rider course.

It was a good time despite the cold. I got to chat with a bunch of Rhode Islanders, as well as some of the folks from Cycle Gear, including those who came into the state to help out with the opening. Most memorable Rhode Islander was the guy who didn’t smile, and got a bit smart-assy when Anthony teased him. His “smile” was fake mooning us. That, in a nutshell, sums up the miserable attitude of the people of this state. I still don’t get it, as an outsider.

Fun-est bike was this Kawasaki! The owner was a super-chill dude from West Greenwich. He told me about how nice the riding is in Maine, so that’s on the list for next year.

Kawasaki 750 2-stroke ... I think this is a bit of a Frankenbike as I think it's an H1 with a different engine? Drum brake confusing me.

Kawasaki 750 2-stroke … I think this is a bit of a Frankenbike as I think it’s an H1 with a different engine? Drum brake confusing me.

I picked up some of the Freeze-Out line; a pair of leggings and socks in preparation for an upcoming ride. We’ll see if it works…the national marketing guy told me it would. He’ll hear from me if it doesn’t.

Loved this Dizzer sumo. Rider was a cool dude; he put a fake exhaust on the left side. Told me there wasn’t anything in there, now that I knew it was fake ;)

DDRZ400SM with dual exhaust, hmmm...very tricky

DDRZ400SM with dual exhaust, hmmm…very tricky

I had planned on taking the DR350 but he wouldn’t start. It was really cold and the fuel was down to nothing. Took the Buddy, and stopped at Trader Joe’s on the way home to pick up the last bits for the Thanksgiving meal.

Leave a Reply

