Scoot Commute

A bit of autumn woods riding

Posted in Pleasure Ride, Ride Reports, Suzuki DR350SE (1995) by sbahn on 2013/10/27

Ugh, it’s been a tough fall here in little Rhody. I don’t even know why, as it hasn’t been frighteningly cold yet, no snow, and the leaves are taking their time fluttering to the ground.

all the pics

Today I met a friend off of Douglas Avenue (at a Dunkin’ Donuts, of course!) to do an easy ride on my Suzuki DR350 and his Yamaha WR250R. We agreed on a sensible meeting time of 10am. None of this kickstands up at 8:30 nonsense. It’s Sunday; let’s sleep in a bit.

DD parking lot with Yammy WR250R and Suzuki DR350SE

DD parking lot with Yammy WR250R and Suzuki DR350SE

The boy was working on the brakes on his 1969 Volvo P1800E, so I had the day off! As we’re chatting in the DD parking lot, a gent comes up to us, asking about the bikes, where we’re riding, blah blah. Turns out he has a YZ250. He and his buds ride up in Franklin. I looked at him and uttered one word: ROCKS. He laughed. Jerry, my friend, asked about riding up in Franklin. I just shook my head.

Up near the Fidelity Investments campus, who knew one of the employee relaxation activities is riding dirtbikes?

Where's the water?

Where’s the water?

Quintessential autumn day in New England -- Johathan Richman, write a song!

Quintessential autumn day in New England — Johathan Richman, write a song!

Helping keep the trails clear for the pipeline workers

Helping keep the trails clear for the pipeline workers

Leaves on the trail make riding trails you’ve never ridden before a bit sketchy. We’ll see where that leads me  a bit later.

The Leaf Cabal working against the Motorcyclists

The Leaf Cabal working against the Motorcyclists

Fall in New England

Fall in New England

Unexpected? Yes!

Unexpected? Yes!

Weird Pumpkin House

Weird Pumpkin House

I sorta wish this was a better picture. I had no idea where we were so good luck ever getting back there.

Brown Richardson Farm somewhere in Massachusetts or Rhode Island

Brown Richardson Farm somewhere in Massachusetts or Rhode Island

Across from the farm was the sawmill.

Sawmill house

Sawmill house

Beaver pond, of course! Love the little buggers despite the havoc they wreak.

Beaver Pond

Beaver Pond

Really? How pretty is this?!

Really? How pretty is this?!

Love this pic! Was able to get Jerry in the mirror.

Riding in New England in the fall

Riding in New England in the fall

Jerry on the mighty WR250R

Who are you, pretty girl? This was the most unafraid, unskittish deer I’ve come across. My dear Deer, it’s currently archery season. Shotgun will shortly be upon us. Get some fear, like, quick!

Deer with big poop pile in the woods

Deer with big poop pile in the woods

After the deer finally scurries in the woods, he says, “So, you wanna lead?” Um, now that we know large wildlife is randomly jumping around, you want ME to go first?!

Staring down the notorious Bikie Gang of B’ville! We came up the gas lines and saw this. I couldn’t stop laughing. How perfect…all lined up in a row and ready to ride toward us. Half of me, well, three-quarters of me, wanted to dip down and heads toward them. But the sensible part of me thought, oh, you’ll crash or drop going up that rock-strewn hill, what a mess. Do you really want to be floundering around in front of the KTM boys?

B'ville Bikie Gang

B’ville Bikie Gang

Pulaski fun!

the mighty Yamaha WR250R in Pulaski on actual roads!

the mighty Yamaha WR250R in Pulaski on actual roads!

Willie Woodhead did me in :( I’ve ridden this “road” many a time, once even on the Buddy scooter!, and never had an issue. I don’t know if it was the putting aside of doubt, but it bit me on the ass, well, actually, the left knee.

DR350 upright again, after a quick nap in the woods

DR350 upright again, after a quick nap in the woods

So, my thoughts on this little get-off. I was leading, on a road/trail I’ve ridden many times. I was pushing, going faster than we were going most of the day, because, well, why not. More speed = more fun, no?

I think the rear tire caught a baby head under power and pushed the bike up to the left, rendering all control to nil. I think the scrape on the left rock is from the left handguard, I think. I managed to separate myself from the bike, but I did get pulled along the trail a bit. It was so fast I didn’t even have a chance to have an “uh oh, oh shit, wha?” moment. Maybe ‘cos there was no tree?

My mistake was not getting myself up quickly. Poor Jerry. I sorta rolled back and forth (I was on my back). I lifted my helmeted head, looked up, laid it back down, and thought, “oh the clouds, they’re pretty” without thinking that Jerry might be a little concerned for my well-being. And I was making noises. He asked twice if I was ok, and I yelled, “Get the bike up. It leaks!” He didn’t move to get the bike up, but to stand over me. “Get the bike up! Gas! Leaking from dual petcocks! Get it up!” I didn’t even say please, poor form on my part.

I finally realized he was concerned for me, so I jumped up and proceeded to run up and down the hill, breathing heavily, skipping off my left leg. “I’m fine, great, no worries!”

The Mighty Suzuki DR350, October 2013 in Rhode Island

The Mighty Suzuki DR350, October 2013 in Rhode Island

Finally, I cannot think of a better way to spend part of a sunny October day in New England, basically a PERFECT DAY, celebrating the canon of Lou Reed, by riding in the woods. Thank you Jerry!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jerry said, on 2013/10/29 at 6:52 am

    I haven’t hear Owie noise like that in a long time. Great ride since you came out OK!


Leave a Reply

