Scoot Commute

Today a pull-out, yesterday an accident

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2013/10/22

Fall is here, and along with that comes earlier darkening skies. This brings out the worst in drivers.

At the cut-through at Eagle Square (due to all the roadway construction by Narragansett Bay Commission, of which there’s been no change in months), one car making a left and another going straight violated the laws of physics…right in front of me. Zip zip around and I continued on my merry way.

Which brings us to this evening. As I’m riding down Dexter, approaching Cranston Street, a car decides to make a veeeeeeeeeeeery slow right-on-red turn from Cranston onto Dexter, right in front of me. I wasn’t going very fast, and wasn’t too concerned as she was hesitating, as if she wasn’t going to actually make the turn in front of me.

But continue on she did, as I laid on the Stebel horn (love that thing!) and flicked the scooter to the left around the Rav4. I noticed the driver never, not once, looked to her left to see if traffic was coming. Not like you’d see a scooter with retroreflective stickers on the headset and electric light bats on the milkcrate, or a rider wearing a retroflective-stickered helmet and gear.

Oh, saw a BMW F800 (white), topped by a rider who was obviously commuting, on Broadway on the way home. And this morning, saw a full-on dual sport rider on a Honda CRF or XR, complete with handguards, riding rather politely, if I do say.

Drivers put the adventure in the commute.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rob Wilson said, on 2013/10/22 at 10:39 pm

    Ah the joy of commuting. Glad your OK. I need to get me a Stebel horn.


Leave a Reply

