Scoot Commute

A fall day in the scooter commute

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2013/10/03

I had to bring my camera to school today to take pics in class so I figured “hey, why not take some snaps on the way to and from work?”

Dexter Ave & Westminster St -- Joe's Meat Market directly in front of me. I got a kick out of the backhoe.

Dexter Ave & Westminster St — Joe’s Meat Market directly in front of me. I got a kick out of the backhoe.

Atwells Avenue construction to slow traffic after a City Council member was struck by a car and almost killed. Of course, it didn't matter that other people were killed on Atwells prior to the incident. Thanks PVD DPW.

Atwells Avenue construction to slow traffic after a City Council member was struck by a car and almost killed. Of course, it didn’t matter that other people were killed on Atwells prior to the incident. Thanks PVD DPW.

Eagle Street has been closed for a few weeks now. I'm expecting this to be a loooooong closure as this was the same stretch where the Narragansett Bay Commission did pipe work that lasted almost 9 months. I haven't seen workers at the site since the first week of putting up the

Eagle Street has been closed for a few weeks now. I’m expecting this to be a loooooong closure as this was the same stretch where the Narragansett Bay Commission did pipe work that lasted almost 9 months. I haven’t seen workers at the site since the first week of putting up the “Road Closed” sign.

River & Chalkstone Avenues -- Raised structures, yikes! Maybe I'll actually have to pay attention and flick the little scoot around those manhole and gas covers.

River & Chalkstone Avenues — Raised structures, yikes! Maybe I’ll actually have to pay attention and flick the little scoot around those manhole and gas covers.

Buddy scooter art shot

Genuine Buddy scooter art shot

River Avenue has been closed this week at different intersections. I think the workers are redoing the sidewalks and driveway ramps.

River Avenue has been closed this week at different intersections. I think the workers are redoing the sidewalks and driveway ramps.

One of the four new speed bumps on Huxley Avenue -- they're so non-bump like I can take them at full speed (as long as I'm standing up, whoooop!).

One of the four new speed bumps on Huxley Avenue — they’re so non-bump like I can take them at full speed (as long as I’m standing up, whoooop!).

River Avenue on the way back home

River Avenue on the way back home

River Avenue with grooved surface, potholes and raised structures

River Avenue with grooved surface, potholes and raised structures

At the corner of Pleasant Valley and River Avenue, I stopped at the newly installed stop sign. A guy on a motorcycle was already on Pleasant Valley. As he had the right-of-way, he proceeded to make a right onto River Avenue. Pleasant isn’t grooved. He starts to make his right (turn signal on, wow!), and proceeds to hit a raised manhole cover. He grabs some brake, wobbles, and puts his feet on the ground. He then walks the bike through the turn! How happy was I to be behind him as we headed toward Chalkstone on grooved pavement. Not only do I ride this twice a day, I also ride in the dirt. Wiggle wobble is nothing. This guy was so stiff on the bike, I wanted to pull up next to him and suggest “chicken arms, flap ’em!”

Blue Knights rider who obviously didn't like the grooved surface. His vest and patch were brandy new!

Blue Knights rider who obviously didn’t like the grooved surface. His vest and patch were brandy new!

At the five points at Eagle Square, I lost the green arrow and so had to stop and wait. However, the traffic going straight got a green light as I pulled up. The lead car, no move. I looked over and the woman was texting-text-texty-mctext-texting. A car further back did the polite “quiet honk-quiet honk”, yet she did not respond. I yelled over, “It’s green, that means go, you stupid fill-in-the-fun-word.” She looks over at me, smiles wanly, and says “Thank you” as she is still holding her phone. I hate you, you selfish fuck. Driving IS what you do in your car. How about trying it out?

Leave a Reply

