Scoot Commute

2013 Rice-o-Rama — Japanese Vintage Motorcycle Show

Of course the boyfriend and I headed up to this year’s Rice-o-Rama. The weather was perfect (not too cold, not too hot, no rain), the bikes were plentiful (many more in the show this year compared to 2012), and the route up and back really nice (gotta love Google Maps drag-a-route).

all the pics

Began the day at the Seaplane Diner on Allens Avenue in Providence.

Scrambled eggs, bacon, wheat toast with strawberry jam, and on his plate, bacon/egg/cheese on a bagel, all washed down with good diner coffee

Scrambled eggs, bacon, wheat toast with strawberry jam, and on his plate, bacon/egg/cheese on a bagel, all washed down with good diner coffee

Spotted a Yamaha XT500 Enduro on Westminster Street as we were heading out of town.

Yammy XL 500 Enduro parked in front of White Electric, Westminster St, Providence, RI

Yammy XL 500 Enduro parked in front of White Electric, Westminster St, Providence, RI

The road to Rice-o-Rama.

Douglas Ave, Burrillville, RI

Douglas Ave, Burrillville, RI

Parked waaaay in the back, even though we got there at a decent hour.

Honda Transalp XL600V and Suzuki DR350SE squeezed within a sea of bikes

Honda Transalp XL600V and Suzuki DR350SE squeezed within a sea of bikes

Honda Elite 150 Deluxe

Honda Elite 150 Deluxe

Honda Passport with windshield for sale ... too much money!

Honda Passport with windshield for sale … too much money!

weird German motorcycle made in Nürnberg

weird German motorcycle made in Nürnberg

Honda MB5

Honda MB5

the bike I wanted to go home with ... Honda C70 Super Cub

the bike I wanted to go home with … Honda C70 Super Cub

new Honda CB1100 in the parking lot

new Honda CB1100 in the parking lot

Honda CBR600F in the parking area

Honda CBR600F in the parking area

Red Honda Transalp XL600V in the parking area

Red Honda Transalp XL600V in the parking area

Kawasaki 750 2-stroke ... entered in the show

Kawasaki 750 2-stroke … entered in the show

a pair of Honda CX650 Turbo

a pair of Honda CX650 Turbo

obligatory Mad Max Kawasaki KZ1000 bike

obligatory Mad Max Kawasaki KZ1000 bike

a pair of Honda CT90 Trail bikes

a pair of Honda CT90 Trail bikes

Kawasaki 750 and 500 2-strokes -- yikes!

Kawasaki 750 and 500 2-strokes — yikes!

getting ready to head back home, Honda Transalp and Suzuki DR350SE

getting ready to head back home, Honda Transalp and Suzuki DR350SE

The one dirt road I had mapped and it's gated, boohoo! This is Purgatory Chasm State Reservation.

The one dirt road I had mapped and it’s gated, boohoo! This is Purgatory Chasm State Reservation.

riding home, stopped, as I switched my analog GPS (route sheet) to the next page

riding home, stopped, as I switched my analog GPS (route sheet) to the next page

random winery with a giant Santa somewhere in Massachusetts

random winery with a giant Santa somewhere in Massachusetts

crossing the Diamond Hill Reservoir, Honda Transalp stilllife

crossing the Diamond Hill Reservoir, Honda Transalp stillife

Deer Crossing sign in Central Falls, Rhode Island ... really?

Deer Crossing sign in Central Falls, Rhode Island … really?

As we rode closer to Providence, sorta about the time we crossed into Pawtucket, the drivers got crazy. I was very aware of the change in the way I was riding. Sometimes I think I need to move.

Three Final Thoughts

I spoke with one of the RoR volunteers and he said the organizers are thinking of moving the show, yet again, as its outgrown the Singletary Rod & Gun Club in Oxford, MA. I said that I’d love if they brought back a judged scooter class, and he said there was talk of it, especially if they move. They can reach out to more people. Let’s hope so, and let’s hope the location has some nice routing options to get there.

A guy walking along a highway somewhere in Massachusetts gave me the double-fisted wheelie sign. That made me laugh.

And when we were back in town, stopped at a red light, a white car pulled up and stopped dead next to me, not pulling up all the way to the stop line (there was a car in front of me). I noticed out of the corner of my eye and thought, “That’s odd” as I turned my head to my boyfriend to ask him something. He gestured that the inhabitants of the car were trying to get my attention. I looked over and the passenger, arms covered in tats, looked at me and grinned. The driver shot me the peace sign. I have no idea what any of it meant. I think they wanted to talk but didn’t know what to say. Why does this never happen on the scooters?

This winter’s projects are going to be to get Dave Bettencourt’s turquoise and white CB350 running, along with a thorough go-through of the Lambretta. Who really needs a dining room?

Leave a Reply

