Scoot Commute

Scooter Milkcrate Custom Bag by Storm Industries

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2013/09/07

Brady, the talent behind Storm Industries, has carved out quite a niche in the making of custom Cordura bags for crazy, anal-retentive people on ADVrider. The man has managed to make hundreds of bags, tool rolls, ID card holders, and anything else people can dream up with no complaints. For ADV, that’s as close to a miracle as you’ll get.

arriving home on the Buddy scooter with a custom milkcrate bag stuffed with groceries

arriving home on the Buddy scooter with a custom milkcrate bag stuffed with groceries

Today’s post will be a review of the custom bag Brady made for me to my exacting standards to fit into the metal milk crate on the back of my Genuine Buddy St. Tropez scooter.

all the pics

I first requested a custom bag from Brady shortly after he began making bags. It was for my camping pot set, the MSR Quick 2 Pot Set, which did not come with a bag. I provided vague direction and measurements, and I’m happy to say that the bag has provided several years and many camping trips (both quick weekend jaunts to multi-week adventures on both the motorbikes and scooters) of protection from banging against the other stuff in my saddlebags.

After this years main moto-vacation, I decided I needed Brady’s mad skills again. The bag that I use to carry my grill had outlived its useful life, causing the grill to start rubbing against my Ortlieb duffel and start to wear a hole. Naturally, an order for one bag turned into an order for four.

On to the review!

The order started with me measuring the crate, and having the boyfriend sketch what I could only describe in words.

custom scooter milkcrate bag; drawing by the boyfriend

custom scooter milkcrate bag; drawing by the boyfriend

I requested the bag be made in yellow Cordura with a double bottom layer in black as I’m planning on changing the panels on the scoot to create a Bumblebee Buddy.

The idea for the bag was that it would be a tight fit in the metal crate with two carrying handles, a reflective triangle viewable by traffic behind me (for winter/night commuting), a zip that opens the top wide, and a secret pocket in the bottom into which I could slide a flexible cutting board/mat to stiffen the bag. I had this idea because the boyfriend has Brady’s bags to fit the Pelican cases on the Transalp, and he often is slightly frustrated by the bags’ floppiness.

Did Brady deliver? Oh yeah!

scooter milkcrate bag -- empty -- but keeps it shape due to secret flexible cutting board in the bottom

scooter milkcrate bag — empty — but keeps it shape due to secret flexible cutting board in the bottom

Milkcrate bag full of groceries from the ALDI

Milkcrate bag full of groceries from the ALDI

I stopped at the ALDI on Thursday evening and somehow managed to purchase $65 worth of groceries. If you don’t know ALDI, it’s the cheap market. The two New York Strip steaks put the order over the top.

custom scooter milkcrate bag stuffed with groceries

custom scooter milkcrate bag stuffed with groceries

The only item that did not fit in the bag was a box of animal crackers (wha? a girl’s gotta have some snacks).

scooter milkcrate bag stuffed full with ALDI groceries

scooter milkcrate bag stuffed full with ALDI groceries

all the ALDI groceries -- $65 worth -- fit comfortably into the metal milkcrate bag

all the ALDI groceries — $65 worth — fit comfortably into the metal milkcrate bag

The bottom of the bag, with its double-layer of black Cordura, allows me to insert a flexible cutting board. That’s all it takes to keep the bag stiff, and makes it very easy to slip the empty bag in and out of the metal milkcrate.

interior bottom pocket into which I placed a flexible cutting board (also from ALDI) to keep the bag stiff

interior bottom pocket into which I placed a flexible cutting board (also from ALDI) to keep the bag stiff

milkcrate bag is yellow with a black bottom and matching black handles

milkcrate bag is yellow with a black bottom and matching black handles

reflective triangle on the bag will face toward traffic behind me, hopefully getting drivers attention during winter, night and rainy commuting

reflective triangle on the bag will face toward traffic behind me, hopefully getting drivers attention during winter, night and rainy commuting

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. itsuke said, on 2013/09/07 at 7:57 pm

    Your bag looks very neat, but I am more amazed by how much groceries you managed to store within. That’s some amazing 3D tetris skill right there.


Leave a Reply

