Scoot Commute

Road Construction in Providence

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2013/08/31

Last fall the voters of Providence approved a $40 million road repair bond (said to repair 15% of streets maintained by the City of Providence). 89.5% of the voters approved the bond. Bonds were sold in March, 2013, and the roadworks have begun, thus making my 4-mile commute a bit, how shall I say, complicated.

I now have to cut through the Eagle Square parking lot to avoid the closed road over the Woonasquatucket River near the Alco complex. While not on the official detour, it’s the shortest go-round. And yes, I ride slowly through so as not to cause a disturbance.

River Avenue has been ground down to wiggly-wobbly under-pavement. w00t! I cannot wait for River to be repaved. The overfilled potholes, and overfilled again potholes, made for quite the slalom.

Now, if only the Stop/Slow sign-holder dude can figure out his job, it’ll be a bit safer to ride. Oh, wondering why I write this? Well, one morning I come up to a RED light and the sign-holder dude is showing me the STOP side of the sign. He then gives me the “come on through” handwave. I don’t move. He gives it again. I look left and right and see the traffic with the green light remaining stopped. I scooch over to the left to look around the giant dumptruck pouring asphalt and see oncoming traffic stopped, so I start through the intersection.

Intellectually challenged sign-holder dude then gives me the slow-down slow-down hand signal. WTF? I’m going about 10 miles an hour, I’m not gonna hit you or your buddies.

Leave a Reply

