Scoot Commute

14,000 miles on the Buddy

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2013/07/19

w00t! Hit 14k last night on the way home on the little Buddy. Not bad for a 5 year old plastic scooter that has to perform when it’s 100F and 0F. He’s still sporting the original front tire, and I’ve replaced the rear tire twice (with a Michelin S1 … love the S1 tire!). The belt was replaced just because I was being cautious, and one set of rollers replaced with Dr. Pulley sliders. A bunch of oil and oil filter changes (nothing excessive…I ain’t no crazy doing it every 1000 miles and polluting the environment with perfectly fine oil), one battery and I think only one spark plug. That’s it (well, save for the frozen oil line, but that wasn’t the little Buddy’s fault).

Love the Bud, just wish it had a better name.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Major Redneck said, on 2013/07/19 at 2:12 pm

    Yes this is great on the mileage! I started fallowing your blog about 2-3 years ago. Your amazing and very dedicated to what I call photo/ride/bike/adventure writing. I do not read each and everyone but I do get enjoyment out of some most of your writings. I have a Genuine Rattler Buckten 2009 with little over 10,000 miles. It has been a brakedown nightmare for my 2nd ever new scooter. First one was a TGB and I put over 33,000 miles on it and all i did was replace rollers and belt once in that life of that scooter. Paid $2000 for it sold it for $1000 and drove it over 33,000 miles. The Rattler i have over $5,000 grand invested in it. The day I bought it and drove hit home I had to have it towed the last 8miles home. I have went through 5 pistion and cyclinder kits and many other problems, just a nightmare. Hell I tryed to give it away and could not. I have worked on many bikes over my lifetime and its just a poor rare bread. I am just a 2T lover for sure. Next scooter I buy if I ever buy one will be a Vespa for sure, new or used. I also have a TGB R50X that is 68cc and modified, and a 1978 Yamaha Yamahopper 50cc scooter( its all as the day as it was bought but in with 3800 miles on it). well keep up the great riding, be safe, always watch the other guy eye to eye.


Leave a Reply

