Scoot Commute

Three Days After: the Bruise Appears

Posted in Gear Review, Suzuki DR350SE (1995) by sbahn on 2013/06/09
My left knee three days after a slight tangle with a tree and handlebars on a DR350.

My left knee three days after a slight tangle with a tree and handlebars on a DR350.

I cannot believe how bad my knee looks three days after a stupid, slow speed “crash” into a tree. It really was nothing.

Now I did spend some time grabbing at it while I was lying on the ground until I realized I should hit the kill switch to turn off the DR. I think the left handlebar hit my left knee after the right handguard hit the tree. I know I wasn’t under the bike, as I was practicing the “falling gracefully” that Al says I need to work on.

The bruising doesn’t hurt, and hasn’t hurt. It seems to be the small bit of rash that hurts as the skin feels stretched. What the hell? This was a nothing incident and I’ve been limping around for three days now.

How am I going to wear dresses and skirts to work this week when it’s going to be in the upper 70s and 80s?! How do I explain this one away? I can hear the Social Work faculty already…you walked into a door? Uh huh.

I was wearing a pair of Klim Dakar pants with the armour removed (‘cos it’s crap), Forcefield Limb Tubes (bought used from Jim W who probably never wore them) on top of a pair of leggings. The only thing I can think happened is that the limb tube slipped down and the end of the handlebar actually hit above the top of the armor to explain the rash. I just can’t believe how bad it looks considering I was wearing what I consider good armour.

I will say I’m a bit of a “princess and the pea” when it comes to bruising, but this is ridiculous!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mary C. said, on 2013/06/09 at 6:59 pm

    “This ‘tree’ you hit, have you hit it before?”

    Not that I’m making a joke fom domestic abuse, but I’ve seen misguided well meaning questioning before.

    • sbahn said, on 2013/06/09 at 8:18 pm

      No worries, Mary. It really is from a motorbike crash in the woods. Check over anyone who rides trails and I guarantee you they’re covered in bruises if they’re crap riders like I am.

      • Mary C. said, on 2013/06/09 at 8:55 pm

        I know. Wry humor doesn’t always translate well.

  2. circleblue, Keith said, on 2013/06/09 at 7:19 pm

    Yeah, I’m sure I hit a tree while riding my “murder-cycle” is going to get lots of sympathy from the Social Work faculty :^)

  3. sbahn said, on 2013/06/09 at 8:15 pm

    actually, one night my cat jumped up on the pillow running from another cat, and she clawed my eyebrow, just above my eye. I was so lucky ‘cos she just missed my eye by millimeters! But my eye swelled up, black and blue, and everyone was like “What happened?” I know it’s crazy!

    For those concerned, I guess I shouldn’t have joked. The knee, indeed, was smacked either by the handlebar or the ground or the tree. The boyfriend wasn’t even on this ride!

    I’m safe!


Leave a Reply

