Scoot Commute

Pachaug: the lower loop

Posted in Pleasure Ride, Suzuki DR350SE (1995) by sbahn on 2013/06/06


To cheer me up during the ongoing Husky debacle, Matt met me at Beach Pond this afternoon to do a ride of the lower loop. I’ve done most of it in bits and pieces, part of other rides, but this was the first time I focused on just riding the lower loop. We skipped one section where my DRZ and I tangled with nature a couple of years ago.

I managed to not drop my bike. A couple of sections I stalled about halfway up, but got a foot down, got the DR started, pushed weight backwards, and turtled on up the rest of the way. The difference between the DRZ and the DR350 is remarkable. I wish I’d gotten the little DR years ago. It’s just the best little bike. (And before anyone offers any advice, I’m not looking for it.)

There was some mud, but hardly anything. I cannot believe how dry it is. Let’s see what Andrea brings the area.

The horror of a mismatched outfit ... the result of wearing uniforms for 23 years

The horror of a mismatched outfit … the result of wearing uniforms for 23 years

We stopped to move a tree out of the way

We stopped to move a tree out of the way

Green Falls section -- Matt wanted me to see the water crossing; unfortunately, I had a run in with one of Thaddeus' friends

Green Falls section — Matt wanted me to see the water crossing; unfortunately, I had a run in with one of Thaddeus’ friends

Thad's friend ... I remember thinking "Tree, you're going to hit the tree."

Thad’s friend … I remember thinking “Tree, you’re going to hit the tree.”

I don’t consider this incident, which involved dropping the bike and me rolling around on the ground for half a minute clutching me knee, as a drop on the loop. Matt said it didn’t count

Thanks to Matt for his participation in the slowest Pachaug ride ever recorded.

We saw a bunch of deer, including two that ran in front of us at different sections. I don’t understand these daytime leaping deer; it was a West Virginia flashback.

Rode home along Shetucket Turnpike, into Arcadia, and out Breakheart Pond, up Breakheart Hill Road. I haven’t ridden Breakheart in a long time, and forgot how nice it is. This route got me around the construction on 165 and kept that grin on my face.

I should post a pic of my knee tomorrow. I think it must have hit the left hand grip as I don’t remember hitting the ground. I just sorta stepped off the bike.

Leave a Reply

