Scoot Commute

The joy of Google Maps “drag a route”

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2013/05/21

I have no idea what it’s really called, but I decided to grab the ADV RI/eastern CT tag last night before heading home. Instead of taking a more direct, less turn-turn-turn route, I took some time to drag and drop a route on Google maps. And I’m glad I did!

calling Roadside Assistance for the Buddy :)

calling Roadside Assistance for the Buddy :)

I’m not a native Rhode Islander, but I’ve gotten to know a lot of the state. I’m still missing the northeastern corner and the far southwestern corner. The tag was dropped in Lincoln, or Smithfield, or Cumberland, or whatever those towns up north are. I think it was Lincoln because the street signs were red.

I found some wonderful, tiny, backroads out of Providence, into North Providence, and then up to Woonsocket Reservoir Number Three. I even found a house that I’m putting on my “I wouldn’t mind living there” list. It was obviously the original farmhouse, and the land was sold off over time upon which houses were built.

cows on Douglas Avenue / Route 7

cows on Douglas Avenue / Route 7

The roads were curvy, uncrowded, leafy, peaceful…and I was FIVE MINUTES outside of Providence. Farms, stone walls, horses…FIVE MINUTES outside of Providence.

Even though I had my camera with me, I didn’t take any pikchures. The reservoir itself was beautiful. I never would have known it was there. I’ll definitely head back there for a ride.

Buddy scooter at Mashapaug Pond, Providence / Cranston line

Buddy scooter at Mashapaug Pond, Providence / Cranston line

Heading back into Providence, I continued the drag-and-drop route. Pretty sweet. I dropped a new tag at a toxic waste dump as a counterpoint to the pristine drinking water we have in Rhode Island.

warning sign at Mashapaug Pond, Providence / Cranston line

warning sign at Mashapaug Pond, Providence / Cranston line

All in all, it took me an hour and a half to ride the 4 miles home.

other side entrance to Mashapaug Pong (through the Ocean State Job Lot parking lot)

other side entrance to Mashapaug Pong (through the Ocean State Job Lot parking lot)

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert Wilson said, on 2013/05/30 at 10:37 pm

    It’s always pretty fun to discover odd’s and ends where you least expect them to be. That’s one of the reasons I enjoy riding my scoot so much. I will have to explore the drop and drag function on Google maps some. I’ve been looking for a cheap and easy way to map out a route. Nice blog, keep up the good work. I will not however forgive you for being a Man U fan!


Leave a Reply

