Scoot Commute

Twisted Throttle mini Open House celebrating the grand opening of their service department

Twisted Throttle, West Greenwich RI on 4/13/13

Twisted Throttle, West Greenwich RI on 4/13/13

Headed down to the TT open house on Saturday, April 13. Met up with some of the regular crowd (Matt and Al), as well as other folks that know from teaching the MSF course at CCRI (hi Josh and Mike!) and hi-viz sportbike guy (hi Dewin!). It’s the most social I’ve been in a very long time.

Thanks to the guy with the Honda that cool luggage racks. I did find them on eBay but they don’t make for the DR350, sadly.

It was nice to see an “adventurized” Honda NC700X, a bike that TT is renting out. It’s been completely SW-Motech’d. I can’t really see it as an adventure bike, but I sure wouldn’t say no to taking it out for a ride.

After standing around and talking for a while, the boy and I headed out to grab the RI/eastern CT ADV tag, knowing full well we’d be bruced. And of course we were.

RI/CT ADV tag at MacKay's Furniture, North Kingstown, RI

RI/CT ADV tag at MacKay’s Furniture, North Kingstown, RI

We headed toward Razee’s in North Kingstown to check in with Brendan, the parts guy. I ordered a set of Pivot Pegz for the DR350. They’re stupid expensive but I had them on the DRZ, and just rode the Transalp to a meeting last week which also has them, and now I have to have them again. They’re just so damn comfortable.

DR350 and Transalp at Razees in North Kingstown, RI ... yes, that's me in the background on a Honda Metropolitan

DR350 and Transalp at Razees in North Kingstown, RI … yes, that’s me in the background on a Honda Metropolitan

It was great to see Brendan, and he had me to talk to Pete about the KTM 390 Duke that I’ve been lusting over. Pete didn’t have any update but said he should know something soonish. I know pricing won’t be set until about a month before it arrives in the US, but I was interested in when it might arrive as well as fitment. Pete did say that it’s the same frame as the 690 Duke, which I did have a chance to sit on at the IMS show in New York in January. And it felt pretty good, so there’s hope the 390 may wind up in my stable!

me on the KTM 690 Duke at the International Motorcycle Show in NYC, January 2013 ... apparently the 390 will be in the same frame, yippee for me!

me on the KTM 690 Duke at the International Motorcycle Show in NYC, January 2013 … apparently the 390 will be in the same frame, yippee for me!

A couple more pics from April 13 … the weather could have been a bit nicer.

2013 Honda Metropolitan ... kick-ass color scheme

2013 Honda Metropolitan … kick-ass color scheme

TT Open House, April 13, 2013

TT Open House, April 13, 2013

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martha said, on 2013/04/19 at 5:14 pm

    All these long legged women on scooters. I’m envious. My Honda Met is my max for my height!


Leave a Reply

