Scoot Commute

Honda Elite gets new shoes, lovingly transported by the Buddy

Buddy scooter hauling home Bridgestone Molas tires on the '86 Honda Elite wheels

Buddy scooter hauling home Bridgestone Molas tires on the ’86 Honda Elite wheels

Finally got some time to do research on what tires I should put on the recently acquired 1986 Honda Elite 250. Well, sorta spurred on by the fright I got when I went to check the sizing…I’d been riding around all winter with tires that were pretty dry-rotted. The Bridgestone Molas tires (ML 16 and ML 17) are wicked expensive (for scooter tires!) but they’re the only thing I could find to fit 10 x 4.00. What the f sizing is that?

Anyway, they looked hot as just tires. Now that they’re back from mounting (the only work we don’t do ourselves is tire mounting), they’ve been riding just grrrrrrreat. I love ’em. And I’m loving the Elite. It’s like riding a sofa; it’s taken me some time to just drop it into corners as it feels like it wouldn’t like that, but it just responds fabulously.

And the name is … JP for John Player Special. Just loving the CH250.

Leave a Reply

