Scoot Commute

Hats off to the ambulance guy

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2013/02/21

I meant to post this yesterday as it happened on the ride home, but I went out to eat and didn’t get around to it.

Riding down River Street, a steep downhill, I roll off the throttle and let gravity do its work.

It’s dark. There are a couple of cars in front of me. We’re all coasting down the hill, gathering speed as we get near the bottom.

I see an ambulance, not a “real” ambulance with blaring lights and EMTs frantically working on someone in the back, but the kind that transport folks from their house to a doctor’s appointment. I don’t know what they’re called but they look like ambulance. They’re just never in a real rush, and the drivers tend to be not the best, probably because they’re paid peanuts and don’t give a crap.

Anyway, I see this ambulance, stopped and with the left turn signal blinking, most likely a first here in little Rhody. There is plenty of room between the car in front of me and me for him to make a quick left, emphasis on quick. I’d probably have to apply my brakes, a little bit, which I don’t like to do based on someone else’s decision, but I’m ready for it.

And what does the driver do? HE WAITS!

I couldn’t believe it. I did a quick peek into my mirrors to see what was behind me. Nothing. So I guess he figured, why not wait as I can go after the little scooter.

As I zipped by, I gave a big “Hi Mom, Thanks!” wave. He laughed and gave me the same.

Happy times on River Ave.

And oh, yeah, the Buddy is baaaaaack!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. circleblue, Keith said, on 2013/02/21 at 8:14 pm

    Glad to hear the Buddy’s back.

    I have very little to complain about when it comes to the drivers here in St. Louis. They really are generally courteous, which I suppose really makes the rude ones stick out even more.

    We actually have snow. I drove today. http://didheridetoday.blogspot.com/2013/02/im-glad-to-see-your-just-crazy.html

    You’d probably rode :)

  2. Rolando Peñate said, on 2013/02/21 at 8:34 pm

    I think they’re called “ambulettes” for whatever that’s worth.


Leave a Reply

