Scoot Commute

Kids today…a bunch of wimps

Posted in Daily Commute, Honda Elite 250 CH250 (1986) by sbahn on 2013/01/31

Today of all days, I get this playfully hurled out the side door of a mini-van at the gas station.

Isn’t it too cold to ride?

Getting ready to head out in the snow and cold -- love the Honda Elite 250

Getting ready to head out in the snow and cold — love the Honda Elite 250

Seriously? We tied for an all-time high for January 31st in Rhode Island. And even though the temps did fall as the day dragged on, and I was at the station around 6:00 pm, it was still in the 40F range. I didn’t even have my heated gloves or neck gaiter.

These kids are wimps!

Honda Fit & Honda Elite ... you meet the nicest people

Honda Fit & Honda Elite … you meet the nicest people

On another note, while I’m really digging the Honda Elite, I wished I had the Buddy tonight. There was a white Christmas tree on the curb, but there’s no easy way to carry cargo on the Elite. The Bud, I would have just strapped the 3 foot tree to the rear milkcrate. Maybe that’s the problem; the Elite needs a crate and not a top box. How do people use those stupid top cases?

And finally, here’s me on Tuesday!

This is what the streets looked like on my way to work!

This is what the streets looked like on my way to work!

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. circleblue, Keith said, on 2013/01/31 at 9:47 pm

    While looking at the last photo I said to myself, “I’ll bet that front brake isn’t seeing any use.”

    Any word on what’s wrong with the Buddy?

    Ride on. Ride strong!

    • sbahn said, on 2013/02/04 at 4:48 pm

      Hey Keith, one of the hoses to the oil cooler developed a tiny split. Unfortunately, that hose is out of stock and the local repair place doesn’t have any lying around. I don’t want to chance it with duct tape as it’s still really cold. The Elite is running really well, so I’ve been using that scoot. My two complaints about the Elite are the lack of a flat floorboard and the OEM topbox. I can’t do a proper grocery shop. I’m going to take off the topbox and put a milkcrate on; I need it to be practical not a showroom 1986 wonder.

      As for riding snow-covered streets; yeah, it’s stupid but I only have to get half a block to a “main” street where the cars have melted everything, and then it’s about 2 blocks of tertiary streets near school. I can handle that.


Leave a Reply

