Scoot Commute

It’s 7 degrees, sure I’ll ride to work

except that the Buddy had other ideas. Bundled in a balaclava and neck gaiter, I opened the door to the garage to see the Buddy sitting, ready to go. I unlocked it from its anti-theft devices and slipped the key into the ignition. Flip of the kill switch, pull in the brake, press the magic button.

Crank, crank, crank, cough, silence.

Crank, crank, cough, silence.

Cough, silence.

“C’mon little Buddy, c’mon. You can do it,” I encouraged Franz.

A few more cranks and he started up. I had time for a nice long warm-up. I rolled the scoot out the garage and into the snow-covered driveway.

I walked back into the garage to don my helmet and grab my much-needed heated gloves. As I came out to close and lock the door, I noticed a chocolate syrup-like substance on the ground.

“Oh no, ” I moaned. “This can’t be.” I crouched down to the side of the scoot and there it was…drip…drip…drip. Oil was dripping from a hose, presumably from the oil cooler.

So there I was, in full gear and several layers, standing next to an oil-oozing scoot, wondering what to do. I doubted the DR would start as it hasn’t been on a tender for a while. I whipped out the phone and called the boyfriend to turn around from his way to work to come get me and deliver me to my work. He had my car since his van died yesterday on I-95 on his way to work.

This cold is killing our vehicles, one after another.

When the boyfriend got home this afternoon, he checked the Honda Elite to see if it would start up. What a surprise. One magic press and it started right up. Not even on a tender.

Friday is a Honda Elite day. Bring on the single digits!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. circleblue said, on 2013/01/26 at 9:44 pm

    Gotta love a Honda. Hope the commute went well. It’s not been that cold here. And, now its warming back up. I just keep riding away. I think it has been over a year since my car went to work.
    http://didheridetoday.blogspot.com/
    ~Keith


Leave a Reply

