Scoot Commute

Enough with the phones already

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2012/12/19

Today is the day that I absolutely lost it on the commute in to work. As in LOST IT.

People, listen to me.

You have got to stop texting when you are in your car, driving. You have to. Because it’s not even funny anymore. It’s beyond ridiculous.

What part of this do you not understand.

You are driving 3 to 4 thousand pounds of steel

on a public roadway

with other cars, trucks, motorcycles, scooters, pedestrians, pets, traffic cones, traffic signals and lots of signage

yet you think you can CONCENTRATE on driving while doing something that actually uses A LOT OF COGNITION

when you text, you are using language which requires thinking what you want to say, writing it, and then motor skills to type and send it

which means YOU ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTION TO DRIVING

Seriously, I have had it with you all. Stop texting while driving.

This morning, lady in a car making a left just sat there, staring down and to the right, text text text, even though the light had been green for a while and all oncoming traffic cleared the intersection. Instead of honking, I did a quick headcheck to the right and went around her, safely making my left up River Avenue.

I knew if I honked and waited behind her, she would eventually make her turn and I’d probably lose the green signal. And I wasn’t willing to do that.

I don’t know why this event made me so irritated. The commute up this point had been a bit frustrating as I was behind a car here and there that were going very slooooooooowly (the speed limit is 25…imagine being behind the car going 17 mph). So I was a bit annoyed to begin with.

On the other hand, it’s just so freakin’ dangerous, sitting at an intersection and not paying attention to the traffic. That’s putting a helluva lot trust in the other drivers, and if they’re anything like you, you’re basically asking to get hit.

I dream of a world where I have my own roadways, built as a second story above the current roadways. Like the old elevated West Side Highway. But only for me. Sigh.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rollie said, on 2012/12/20 at 8:03 am

    I dream of a world where we decide private automobiles are just too dangerous and resurrect all those trolley tracks just under the surface.

    • sbahn said, on 2012/12/20 at 9:55 am

      Haha, thanks for the laugh Rollie. But if we had trolleys everywhere, it’d be pretty squirrelly riding the scoot around. I’ve already been down on the old tracks on Allens Avenue. The ONLY time I’ve been down on the street. So yeah, not a fan of the tracks. Unless they make them 10 inch tire safe ;)


Leave a Reply

