Scoot Commute

Fall down, go boom

Posted in Off-road riding, Suzuki DR350SE (1995) by sbahn on 2012/12/03

Oh my, Sunday was quite a ride. Today, Monday, I somehow managed to ride the scooter to work (veeeeery slowly with some of the worst cornering I’ve ever done). Every bump and pothole caused pain. Putting a foot down became agony so I got to use my exceptional scooter balancing skills.

We started with 11 ... we ended with I don't even remember.

We started with 11 … we ended with I don’t even remember.

After hobbling into my building on campus, I actually used the elevator. My office is on the third floor, and I never use the elevator. I just couldn’t deal with getting up the stairs. As I’m standing waiting, one of the faculty sees me and decides to take the elevator as well. She looks at me and says “Are you alright?” Apparently I was standing all contorted and unnatural. She knows I ride and asked, “You didn’t have an accident, did you?” Accident is not the right word. It was more like a flail fest.

Start to the ride and the easiest. I thought the whole day was going to be like this. Ahh, so wrong.

Start to the ride and the easiest. I thought the whole day was going to be like this. Ahh, so wrong.

That’s right, Sunday was a FLAIL FEST. I came this close to crying at one point, it was so weird. And I didn’t stop myself because I didn’t want the guys see me being weak, it was more like, “oh, ok, that’s over now, let’s ride.”

Sandpit fun ... this would be more extreme if your man wasn't riding a KLR! Man, the way he handled that thing. Such a nice guy.

Sandpit fun … this would be more extreme if your man wasn’t riding a KLR! Man, the way he handled that thing. Such a nice guy.

There were rocks, roots, mud, leaves, rocks, logs, single track, no track, boulders, ledges, rocks, roots, uphills, downhills, sand (thank god for the sand), and a wee bit of hardpack forest roads and blessed, blessed tarmac.

This was absolutely the most difficult riding I’ve ever done.

Pat making it look easy. This was my second major fall. I wound up lying on my back in those bushes with my left ankle pinned between a rock and my bike. Boy, I'm feeling it today.

Pat making it look easy. This was my second major fall. I wound up lying on my back in those bushes with my left ankle pinned between a rock and my bike. Boy, I’m feeling it today.

When I got home (72.4 miles back to PVD after the soul-sucking riding and the 72.4 mile ride down to CT), I was telling the boyfriend about the day as I stood under the hot water of the shower, hoping it would heal the hurts. When I related how I was getting pretty frustrated near the end of the ride because no one seemed to believe me that “I AM DONE” meant I just wanted to go back to Matt’s truck, put on my warm travelling clothes, and head back to Providence, he asked me to remember that feeling and to respect him when he says it.

Powerlines were the hardest part for me, harder than the woods. I couldn't believe how hard it was. What you don't see in this pic are all the giant rocks that you have to ride over to go up or down.

Powerlines were the hardest part for me, harder than the woods. I couldn’t believe how hard it was. What you don’t see in this pic are all the giant rocks that you have to ride over to go up or down.

So there you go. I rode over downed trees the size of German shepherds without hesitation (who the hell am I?!), down washed-out, loose rocks and sand, and through mud without slowing down (thanks Andy!). Yeah, I dropped the bike. A lot. And yeah, my body was thrown onto the ground with force (hence the limping around). And yeah, the guys had to pick my bike up over and over. And, most embarrassing of all, I was so spent that I just gave up and asked the guys to ride my bike up a couple of muddy, rooty, rocky hills with random sharp turns during the upward direction.

I hope they don't actually have to ever get in and repair the lines 'cos I just don't see how they can get in there. I really did have fun.

I hope they don’t actually have to ever get in and repair the lines ‘cos I just don’t see how they can get in there. I really did have fun.

I think I did pretty good. I definitely had a good time. Slamming my head into the pine tree freaked me out a bit. There was a later slam into a rock, but the tree really freaked me ‘cos there was nothing I could have done to stop my head hitting it. The rock, well, I could have not let my head go back that far. I guess I need a new helmet now. I’ll need new pink stickers.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. peter green said, on 2013/02/02 at 9:53 am

    I was going to say you are a good rider but I will say I hope you are Okay.

    • sbahn said, on 2013/02/04 at 4:52 pm

      Hey Peter, that wasn’t me in the video, thankfully. The guy who it was turned out to be ok, eventually. That happened right at the start of the ride so he was hurting for the rest of the day.

      As for my left leg/foot, it took about 3 weeks until I could walk without a limp. Yikes!


Leave a Reply

