Scoot Commute

Wet, cold, dark, snow — I don’t like winter in New England

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute, Weather by sbahn on 2012/11/27

I’m already tired of this winter. It’s been really cold the last couple of weeks (except for the brief warm-up spell over Thanksgiving which I took major advantage of [post to come]). It’s dark at 4:30, not just dusky dark, but dark dark.

Dark, snowy Buddy scooter

Dark, snowy Buddy scooter

Tonight, yet again, there was snow on the seat of the scoot. It was a cold, wet ride home. I could barely see, wiping slush off my shield every couple of blocks. My Foggy failed me, but I think I didn’t have it pulled tight enough across the bridge of my nose. Or the new glasses just fog more, I don’t know.

My left eye was oozing, as it always does when it’s cold. So basically I could only see out of my right eye. Thankfully, I’ve ridden this route hundreds and hundreds of times. I know every manhole and gas line cover, every pothole, every painted line, every sewer grate.

When I turned onto Westminster, it was eerily dark. I basically just rode into the deep blackness, hoping nothing was lurking in my lane. I then realized the streetlights were not working, just like last night. The city put in fancy streetlights. They sure do look purdy; it’d be nice if they actually shone light on the street.

On a completely unrelated note, this is what greeted me when I peered out the kitchen window this morning, fixing up my turkey lunch.

Falcon in the backyard greeting me when I looked out the kitchen window

Falcon in the backyard greeting me when I looked out the kitchen window

Leave a Reply

