Scoot Commute

It wasn’t sposta stick

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2012/11/07

This is what greeted me in the parking lot when I left my office this evening.

Snowy Franz Biberkopf braving the Nor'easter

Snowy Franz Biberkopf braving the Nor’easter

The ride in this morning was a bit difficult as the wind was something wikkid, and I was aware that a Nor’easter was moving through.

But snow? On November 7? Sticking? In Providence?

I didn’t think anything of it, the white stuff falling from the sky all afternoon. After all, the ground was warm. No way it was gonna stick.

Boy, was I wrong.

Buddy back home!

Buddy back home!

It took about 45-50 minutes to ride 3.8 miles. I took the ‘busy’ route because I wanted the traffic to warm up the roadway. The positive was that there was raw road for some of the ride. The negative was that the traffic was backed up the wazoo.

I really couldn’t believe how much snow and slush was on the streets. I kept my helmet shield about halfway open so I could keep an eye out for manhole covers and painted lines. Thankfully we never got moving very fast so I didn’t have the freezing cold air tearing at my face.

To add to the difficulty in piloting the scooter was that the engine kept wanting to crap out at stops. And there was a lot of idling. I had to roll on throttle to give it some gas and keep the rear brake engaged to stop the scoot from jumping forward. It was getting very, very old. I don’t know what the issue was, and right now, I don’t really care. I’m home, drinking a nice Strongbow cider, with one cat sitting on my right and another on my left, listening to Marketplace on the radio.

Parked in the middle of my street

Parked in the middle of my street

All the traffic was cool, save for one lovely gentleman in a Lexus SUV with MA dealer plate 133A. I made the silly “mistake” of taking a right-on-red onto Broad Street, even though I saw the Lexus coming towards me because the SUV was in the left-turn-only lane. Ahh, what’s a bunch of driving rules between friends, eh? He came flying through the intersection, hand on horn, gesturing.  There was plenty of room, so no harm done, but really? It’s snowing like mad, the streets are more slippery than a dance floor covered in Jello, and you’re flying down Broad Street near the high schools?!

Just pulled up on my street, Buddy covered in snow, ice and slush

Just pulled up on my street, Buddy covered in snow, ice and slush

Once on Broad, I pulled over to let the two cars behind me pass so I could follow in their tracks (and well, yeah, I didn’t want cars behind me in case I slipped).

I had no problems with slipping. Only once did the rear go out on me when starting off from a standstill, mainly because I had to goose the throttle to keep from stalling.

All in all, not much fun. I think if I had to do it again, I’d take the ride that Marian offered.

Pulled into the driveway

Pulled into the driveway

None of these pictures capture the actual commute. No way I was gonna try to get a pic with my phone while wearing my bulky heated gloves. Let’s just say, I rarely have these thoughts when commuting, but I was scared. At one point my brain thought “If you have to emergency stop, you’re going down. So don’t have to emergency stop.” and, happily, there was no need to.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HiViz Sportbike Guy said, on 2012/11/08 at 8:26 am

    I was thinking of you as I watched it come down in Cranston. Glad you made it home OK.

    • sbahn said, on 2012/11/08 at 12:54 pm

      Haha, and I was thinking of you as I crawled along Dean Street, stuck in the traffic snarl. I remember you saying you saw me once along that stretch. It was a pretty miserable commute last night.


Leave a Reply

