Scoot Commute

Stolen DRZ400SM

She’s gone. Elsa is gone.

Last picture of Elsa, the DRZ400SM with her brand new Shinko 700s

Last picture of Elsa, the DRZ400SM with her brand new Shinko 700s

I worked all day yesterday, Saturday, teaching a double lecture in the MSF course here in Rhode Island. I had to also work three hours on Sunday morning, at CCRI in Lincoln, for the RiderCoach semi-annual professional development event.

I thought I heard rain drops, so I went to the front door, unlocked the locks, and stepped onto the porch. I looked down and saw a piece of paper. “Hmm, what’s this?” I thought as I bent down to scoop it up.

Stolen scooter note

Stolen scooter note

Turning to go back in the house, the boyfriend was right behind me. I looked at him and said, “They got the scooter. Oh my god, the garage.”

I started shaking. The boyfriend got into “takeover” mode and went back in the house, grabbing the keys for the garage. I went back in and suited up (it wasn’t raining) as I had to get to Lincoln for work. My only thought was, “Man, I hope the scooter isn’t trashed.” It never crossed my mind that my other daily rider would no longer be in the garage.

It took me a minute or two to get across the street. The boyfriend had the garage open as I walked up. “They got the DRZ.”

“Wha? Wha? Wha? My bike is gone?” That’s about all I remember. He was already on the phone with the police. I just lost it, started crying hysterically and yelling about neighborhood scum. The DRZ and I are really one entity. That bike IS my personality. And I just couldn’t process that it was gone.

I called the guy who runs the MSF course. I have no idea what I said to him, but I think he thought I’d had an accident. All I wanted to transmit was that I’d be late to the training session, which I think he got.

Then I walked over to the neighbor who left the note and sure enough, there was my little blue Buddy 150, aka Franz Biberkopf, tucked behind a tree in his parking area. The ignition was all messed up, like they jammed a screwdriver into the slot and couldn’t get it to break. The handlebars were all twisted, as if they tried to snap the handlebar lock and failed miserably. So there’s at least a small bright spot (although, really, I’m ready for a new scooter so it would have been nice if things were reversed).

I couldn’t get the key into the ignition, so I walked back over to the house to wait for the police. The boyfriend grabbed a dolly and walked over to retrieve the scooter. While he was loading it up, he spoke with the neighbor whose yard it was left in, and he had his driver’s side car window and windshield smashed. He even saw them and yelled out the window around 2:30 in the morning, and they responded by throwing rocks at him.

A Providence Police car turns the corner, crawling along, presumably looking for the house. Um, hello, I’m sitting here on the stoop! He pulls up and asks out his window, “Did you have a motorcycle stolen?”

“Um, yeah.”

And so it went. Turns out, it was Officer Rod Soares, the dude who did the report when the boyfriend was in a hit-and-run on his BMW R75/5. The scary part was, he remembered us. At least it’s not for being criminals.

We had a great conversation, but the funniest thing Officer Soares said to me was this. He heard me say to the boyfriend that I have to wash my face before I head out to class in Lincoln because I was crying.

“Crying? Why did you cry? That’s what people in the suburbs do.”

I love city cops. He also went through how he secures his home and things. We were spot on, both thinking like criminals. The problem is, we park the bikes in a garage across the street and we had gotten, as Officer Soares said, “complacent.”

So there it stands.

Two bikes stolen.
One located (Buddy scooter).
One still gone.

If you see a blackDRZ400SM with pink barbed wire stickers, pink and black Renazco seat, silver rear rack with side rack (one piece), dual headlight fairing and heavy duty skid plate, please follow it and call the Providence Police.

I’m really lost.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Liz C. said, on 2012/08/12 at 7:16 pm

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    Unrelated, but kind of related, someone stole the slate shingle roofing from in front of my house.

    More ggrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr about the DRZ being taken!

    Liz

  2. circleblue said, on 2012/08/12 at 7:21 pm

    Damn! I have no other words. Damn! Damn! Damn!

  3. SonjaM said, on 2012/08/12 at 11:45 pm

    Sucks big time! Sorry for your loss, I hope they get the bastards and tar and feather them.

  4. Tim said, on 2012/09/02 at 9:19 pm

    Sorry they ripped you. Bummer about the damage to the scooter too. There is a special place in hell for the bike thieves. What goes around comes aorund and they’ll be getting theirs soon.

  5. Ray Pro said, on 2012/09/25 at 9:08 pm

    I just reported my bike Stolen tonight its a 2002 DR-z400s with only 1100 miles on it White and yellow, its was stolen right from my front yard in johnston RI. So i can feel for you. the steerting colum was locked so they must have picked it up and put it in a truck. Really sucks – i cant believe it . no isusrace. and no $$$ to get a new bike. i just did a tune up and new mirrors and other parts….

    • sbahn said, on 2012/09/27 at 1:14 pm

      Man, that sucks big time. I hope you find it and it’s in decent condition. I just don’t get stealing someone’s transportation.


Leave a Reply

