Scoot Commute

Accident on the commute and a guy on a motorcycle? This weather is messing everyone up

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2012/02/28

Friday morning, I’m stopped at the light at River and Chalkstone with three cars and one pick-up in front of me. I was sort of daydreaming, singing the stupid ‘Long Way Down’ song as I had just re-watched the series, you know the song “Got sun in my face, sleeping rough on the ro-oad,” just sorta rocking back and forth on the scoot with no worries, no one coming up behind me, when I see a car pull out from the curb and start to drive across the intersection ON A RED LIGHT.

As you can imagine there was contact. A car with the right of way (green light) was hit by the car that went through the light, making contact at the left fender. It was very slow motion and one of those, “Wow, is this really happening?”

The guy who was hit had his car spin around a bit in the intersection, but stopped the car and got out quickly. During this time the light for my direction turned green. And what did the cars do? Just sat there. So in typical fashion, I pulled out of line and passed everyone, proceeding slowly through the intersection. My thought was, ‘hey, the guy who was hit is standing and obviously ok. I didn’t really see what happened when the guy pulled out from the curb, so really, I’m no help.

And away I rode on my way to work. Weird, weird feeling. Glad it wasn’t me because it would have been my leg.

Fast forward to today, Tuesday. I’m sitting at the light at Broadway and Tobey, again sorta daydreaming. Car behind me seems to be parked firmly so no worries he’s going to roll into me. Just sorta staring around, thinking about nothing in particular. Bike rides right by, heading east on Broadway. “Huh? Whaaa?” He waved, wearing all black with a shiny, candy apple red FF helmet. “Huh?” I thought to myself. I actually shook my head and did a “Wha?” with both hands. I wonder if the driver behind me saw.

Yeah, it’s been warm but who the hell is out riding in February in Rhode Island? Me, the boyfriend, and obviously some other nutjob.

And completely unrelated, I got a new bag for groceries and got to try it out tonight at the Aldi. Carefully packed it up, zipped the top (the secret to carry crap in a milkcrate), and it fit perfectly into the crate. Doubled-up the bungee and everything arrived home safe and sound. Very pleased, super-cheap. Thanks Woot!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SonjaM said, on 2012/02/28 at 9:00 pm

    Glad, it wasn’t you that got hit, and nothing serious happened. We live in a mad, mad world.

    If I lived in Rhode Island, you could count me in the nut jobs club as well.

    You have an ALDI? Now, I envy you…

    • sbahn said, on 2012/03/08 at 7:45 pm

      Well we really don’t need any more nutjobs in little Rhody, so it may be best that you don’t move here :)

      Yeah, we now have a bunch of ALDI stores and, finally, a Trader Joes (as a few years ago…I lamely went on opening day). The ownership is sort of related. ALDI in the US is owned by a different branch of the German family that owns Trader Joe’s.


Leave a Reply

