Scoot Commute

Quote of the day

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2012/02/09

As I was walking down the hallway toward the exit this evening, in full gear over my sweater dress and tights, one of the students who works in Media Services popped out of the office and said, “Are you on a motorcycle?” This student has been working in this office for at least two years, and he has seen me wearing a hi-viz jacket, armoured overpants, boots and winterweight neck gaiter dozens, probably hundreds, of times. I’ve had long conversations with him in full gear.

I looked at him and said, “Of course. Wha? You think I’m wearing this for fashion?”

“Oh no, I thought you were afraid of falling in the snow.”

Snow? I think to myself. I wear this stuff all year. He’s seen me in t-shirts and skirts and then in full gear. What the hell? Now I do know he’s from Minnesota and maybe people bundle up in Cordura and CE-grade armour to protect against slipping on the white stuff? Regardless, I really couldn’t stop shaking my head on the entire ride home. Kids today.

Leave a Reply

