Scoot Commute

10,000 miles by scooter

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/12/20
9,999.9 miles on Franz Biberkopf, the Buddy scooter

9,999.9 miles on Franz Biberkopf, the Buddy scooter

I don’t know why this was such a big deal for me, but the Buddy turned over 10k today, December 20, as I arrived into work. This is the only bike I’ve ever purchased brand new. I put every single mile on this thing, and it’s primary use is for commuting, 8 miles round-trip. Two years, 7 months. Either I work waaaay too much or those “I’m going to take the long way home” meanderings really racked up the miles.

Either way, I love the Buddy. Reliable. Cute. Requires next to nothing in maintenance.

10,000.0 miles on a Genuine Buddy St. Tropez

10,000.0 miles on a Genuine Buddy St. Tropez

A special THANK YOU to Paul for walking all over campus to take pictures. You’re such a good guy.

My commuter Buddy in more ways than one at 10,000 miles on the odometer

My commuter Buddy in more ways than one at 10,000 miles on the odometer

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. circleblue said, on 2011/12/20 at 7:24 pm

    Way to go!

    I have only the one bike, a Symba. My commute is about ten miles to work, but it can be longer on the way home. This coming March 1st will be my two year anniversary. I’m looking forward to seeing how many more than 15,000mi I can get by then. Of course, with only one bike, farther to commute each day, and I suspect less snow I’m humbled by your achievement. Geez, with the need to keep the other bikes happy and such it boggles the mind how many miles you’d have on your little beast if it was your lone bike.

    Congratulations! And, thanks for sharing your experiences of your rides with me. Be safe!

  2. MrMoto said, on 2011/12/21 at 7:50 am

    Hi-Viz sportbike guy here. Congrats to you and Franz!

    I moved up to an FJR1300 this year and I’m 400 miles away from 10K for the season. But my trail, as well as my horse, is of a different color. The hi-viz looks more, how you say, appropriate, on a touring bike!

  3. Vic said, on 2012/01/03 at 12:23 am

    Congratulations on your first 10,000. I also felt a sense of achievement when I hit hat last year — also commuting about 24 miles daily during the school year (employee) . My first bike was also a Buddy 150 St. Tropez; and it was a great bike

    I needed something highway capable though, so I’m riding a 2009 SYM rv250 and am just shor of 15,000 miles on a scooter seat.

    Keep the shiney side up!

    • sbahn said, on 2012/01/03 at 7:09 pm

      Hey Vic, thanks for visiting! Yeah, I don’t get those folks that ride the Buddy on the highway. I’ve taken it on 55mph posted roads where traffic moves at 65 and those little wheels sure do make it exciting! Those SYMs sure a purdy. Happy scootering!


Leave a Reply

