Scoot Commute

Taking the Buddy to a nudist colony

Long weekend, Columbus Day. Have chores but don’t really feel like doing any of them. Just sorta tired and beaten down from work. And my shoulder still hurts.

Genuine Buddy scooter at highest point in Rhode Island, Jerimoth Hill

Genuine Buddy scooter at highest point in Rhode Island, Jerimoth Hill

Sunday morning I dragged myself out of bed around 11:20 am. Ahhh, just what I needed. A good, long sleep in. I decided I’d go for a ride in the afternoon as the weather was warm (in the 80’s in October!) and the ADV RI/CT tag was calling my name (even though it was a repeat).

After studying Google maps and the DeLorme Rhode Island and Connecticut map, I’m ready to head out for some exploring on the Buddy. Why the Buddy even though the Dizz is still sporting her dirt wheels and the route I planned included some ‘dotted’ lines? Honestly? ‘Cos I want Franz (the Buddy) to hit 10k before December 31. Why? I don’t know. Round numbers are good? Shrug.

The Route

Pretty country lane in Connecticut, Chestnut Hill Road

Pretty country lane in Connecticut, Chestnut Hill Road

Hit Jerimoth Hill, the highest point in Rhode Island and check off the ADV tag. As I approach the point, a BMW passes me with a rider wearing a blue Aerostich. “Awwww man,” I think to myself, “that’s gotta be one of the guys. No way I’ll get home in time to post.” Confident in the knowledge that I was going to be bruced, I headed nobly into Connecticut.

Cotton Bridge Road, CT

Cotton Bridge Road, CT

My route had me on tertiary roads, some gravel, some tarmac, all amazingly free of others with dappled sunlight and turning autumn leaves. Oh how I suffered.

Cotton Bridge Road does continue next to the farm

Cotton Bridge Road does continue next to the farm

I did come across bikes on the more ‘major’ roads like 169 or Lake Road, mainly cruisers with the occasional group of sport bike dudes. Biggest smile of the ride: two sport bike both going up and giving me big wheelies. Laughing my ass off. If I was riding the Vespa, I would have reciprocated!

Pole Bridge Road, Woodstock, CT

Pole Bridge Road, Woodstock, CT

Managing only one wrong turn, which was a bit annoying as I had a 1970’s convertible following me a bit too closely (really, you’re on my butt on some podunk road in the middle of nowhere on this beautiful day?!) when my analog GPS flew off the headset, I turned around and located the handwritten card in the leaves next to the roadway; that’s one way to get a tailgater off my tail.

Pole Bridge Rd, Woodstock CT ... so welcoming with its wooden daffodil

Pole Bridge Rd, Woodstock CT ... so welcoming with its wooden daffodil

Pulling the right onto Pole Bridge Road, I was headed toward where I wanted to drop the new ADV tag: the Solair Recreation League, the 1930’s way to name a nudist camp. Little did I know that Pole Bridge Road was a dotted line on the DeLorme map. I was about to take the little scootah into places he’s never been.

Gate closed...wonder where this road goes? For another time

Gate closed...wonder where this road goes? For another time

I failed to mention that when I first turned on to Pole Bridge Road, there was a sign ‘No Outlet’ but it didn’t really register to me. The Google map showed this road as going straight through to the nudist colony so away I bounded into the woods.

Serene ride in the woods of Woodstock, Connecticut

Serene ride in the woods of Woodstock, Connecticut

I continued into the woods, not really thinking about the ‘No Outlet’ sign. To my left appeared very high fencing that was covered with No Trespassing/Private Property signs. But the “road”, if you can even call it that, the road was fair game and a public way.

One of many mud puddles ... all but one had easy go-rounds

One of many mud puddles ... all but one had easy go-rounds

Is this really the best bike for the job?

Is this really the best bike for the job?

I eventually wound up on Brickyard Road and got to see the Castle House.

Castle House in Woodstock, CT or how the hell did this get through zoning?

Castle House in Woodstock, CT or how the hell did this get through zoning?

I finally made it to my destination: the Solair Recreation League! But little difference did it make as I was being bruced as I was enjoying the warming sun on this Indian Summer afternoon.

Solair Recreation League, Woodstock, CT

Solair Recreation League, Woodstock, CT

It was starting to get dark and so I headed back into Little Rhody via English Neighborhood Road; who wouldn’t want to take a road with such a name? Nothing like riding into a neighborhood where people offer you tea, eat crisps and sing “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot” as their rugby team gets their asses kicked.

Pond Factory Road, Woodstock, CT

Pond Factory Road, Woodstock, CT

Canada Geese on a pond near Killingly, CT

Canada Geese on a pond near Killingly, CT

Safely back in little Rhody, just over the border in Foster on Route 101

Safely back in little Rhody, just over the border in Foster on Route 101

As I’m watching the sun sink behind, I’m thinking, it’s getting dark. The final 20 miles or so back into Providence were very, very dark. I only did one more gravel road, Rams Tail, before sticking to Central Avenue. The potholes on Central are out of control and I needed my brights for most of it. I spent more time standing while riding Central then on the rest of the ride, rocks, boulders and gravel combined. Note to the DPW in Scituate…how about repaving?

Kinda dark on Rams Tail Road near the Barden Reservoir

Kinda dark on Rams Tail Road near the Barden Reservoir

I arrived home, bruced and sunburned, around 7:20 pm. But the Buddy had pulled 84 mpgs and it’s been a very long time since I’ve seen that. The ride was just about 110 miles round-trip. Not bad, even if the scoot did conk out a few times. That’s a problem to be dealt with on another day.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SonjaM said, on 2011/10/11 at 10:25 pm

    Who says you can’t ride forest and gravel road with a scooter? Well done. The pictures are beautiful, especially the pond with the fall foliage.


Leave a Reply

