Scoot Commute

Rice-o-Rama 2011 or my ride to North Brookfield, MA with a Suzuki, a Honda and a BMW

Meeting at the Seaplane Diner in Providence for brekkie

Meeting at the Seaplane Diner in Providence for brekkie

I know, what’s with the BMW? Especially when he has a Jap bike! Delicate derriere I suspect.

Five of us met at the Seaplane, including the gimp Terry and his long-suffering wife who shamefully showed up in a car. And a German car at that (even though, again, they have a Japanese cah as well).

After breakfast, Terry and Connie sped away. They probably arrived at the meet an hour before us because I had mapped out a lovely, country roads route that took us through South Providence and into the cowland that is northeastern Connecticut, and eventually into Massachusetts, through Sturbridge (is it never not congested?) and into North Brookfield.

We arrived around 11:30 am and man, was there traffic or what?! We had to park waaaaay out in East Jibip on the slippy slidey grass.

I gotta say, I do enjoy this show. It draws all types of people on all kinds of bikes. The biggest revelation this year was the number of hipsters and cafĂ© racers. I never really noticed the correlation. I know, I should get out more. It’s just sorta weird to see hipsters and motorcycles together.

Enough words. On to the pics!

Honda CL70 offered for sale

Honda CL70 offered for sale

Mitsubishi Silver Pigeon scooter…the parts were there. I didn’t have a way to get it home. But I wanted it. Sold for two hundred measly bucks. The heartbreak.

Mitsubishi Silver Pigeon for sale, later bought by a guy who really didn't know what it was, ugh

Mitsubishi Silver Pigeon for sale, later bought by a guy who really didn’t know what it was, ugh

I took a lot of pics of Kawasakis this year; am I falling out of love with Honda or was there not anything all that interesting this year? I say the latter.

Kawasaki KH400

Kawasaki KH400

Love, love, love this bike!

Suzuki GS 1000 S ... the past is calling and it wants the future back

Suzuki GS 1000 S … the past is calling and it wants the future back

Obligatory Honda CB750 K bike picture

Obligatory Honda CB750 K bike picture

After the show, the three of us (the boyfriend, the Marine and me) took a detour on the route back. We hooked a right out of the gun club where the show was, and came upon a “Road Closed” sign. I was leading as I had a vague idea of where there might be some dirt roads. I pulled over and as I was putting down my windshield (it FREAKS me out to stand up and lean forward when the thing is in the ‘up’ position), the BMW 1200 GSA rode up around me and headed down the road.

Ok, I guess we’re going.

I was wondering why the road was closed as I came up and over a small hill and saw the entire right side of the road washed out. “Yeah, that’d be difficult in a car,” I thought to myself.

DR-Z 400 SM, Honda Transalp and BMW 1200 GSA in the woods

DR-Z 400 SM, Honda Transalp and BMW 1200 GSA in the woods

As we came upon a T-junction, there were a couple of sport bikes parked on the other side of the Road Closed sign. One of the guys walks over and starts talking to M, asking him if he knows where the show is and if this road will get them there.

Really? You’re going to ride your pretty sport bike up this rain-ravaged dirt road that still has rivulets running down it, with a girly on the back wearing the most inappropriate shoes and the shortest skirt I’ve ever seen for motorcycling (really, makes the scooter people look like they dress for safety). The Marine was convincing them they could do it. I would have loved to stick around and watch.

Off we headed toward Oakham State Forest and we were not disappointed, well, maybe a bit, because the roads weren’t very long. But it was fun!

The big BMW 1200 GSA getting some oil

The big BMW 1200 GSA getting some oil

Happily blinding wildlife

Happily blinding wildlife

See the entire set of Rice-o-Rama 2011 pictures!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. circleblue said, on 2011/09/12 at 8:47 pm

    Nice post. Love the description of the sports bike rider and his “girly”.

    Glad it was a great ride even if the roads weren’t long enough.

    Thanks for the share.

  2. Poliananana (@polianarchy) said, on 2011/09/12 at 10:25 pm

    LOVE this post! I love looking at vintage motorcycles. And yes, that Silver Pigeon is so amazing…sigh. I feel your pain! Also, way to go on that last photo. Great action shot!

  3. bri said, on 2011/09/15 at 8:57 am

    another transalp in Providence??? i’ve got an ’89. i found your pix searching for any rice o rama 2011 pix since i only took a few sunday. cheers!


Leave a Reply

