Scoot Commute

My neighbor walks his dog by driving his minivan

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/07/27

up and down the street. So the dog has learned that running after a moving vehicle is acceptable. Guess what this behaviour has done for my commute? That’s right; I often have to deal with a French poodle darting out into the street to chase me down.

I’m usually ready for him.

But the last few days have been very long days at work and I’ve been going in very early. And I guess I hit prime “walking” time for the dog, as he came bounding out like a banshee out of hell after me, taking me on suddenly. I was unprepared.

I kept on the throttle, but had to stop at the end of the street as the traffic on was bad at the stop sign. Due to the new traffic pattern on Elmwood Ave, I had to wait for several cars until I could take my turn. I was watching the dog out of the corner of my eye (yes, you can see out of the corner of your eyes while wearing a full-face) and he was behind me, to my right.

I make the turn onto Elmwood and *woof!*, there’s 75 pounds of French poodle barking leaping towards me. He scared the shit out of me. I opened the throttle to pull away from him. Seriously, if he got hit, I wouldn’t have cared. Why is this dog running loose on a major road?! And his owner is a lawyer!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SonjaM said, on 2011/07/28 at 10:33 pm

    Next time you should be prepared to give that mutt a serious kick, if you are lucky the dog might remember next time that chasing vehicles is not so funny. (sorry I am obviously not a dog person). No wait, give that owner a kick instead for his behaviour, maybe he will learn something, too (I am not a people person either, I guess).


Leave a Reply

