Scoot Commute

Scooter v Smart Car

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/07/19

I actually had to use my horn this morning. I cannot remember the last time I’ve used it. And it was to toot at a Smart Car driver who was going to pull out from a stop sign into my right-of-way. My thoughts went like this:

  • Cute, Smart Car
  • Hmm, she’s pulling out
  • She’s going to pull out in front of me
  • Who would win in a scooter v Smart Car battle? Probably the car. The only collision the Smart Car could win.
  • Toooooooot on the Stebel Nautilus
  • That got her attention (as she turned her head, looked at me with a 1/2 second of horror, hit the brakes, then smiled and waved as I rode by)

I wasn’t anywhere near going to hit her as I had plenty of swerve space, but it got me thinking. The summer commuting has been pretty decent. I think once the schools close down for the summer, there’s considerably less traffic in the mornings. I don’t know why every mom has to drive their kids to school when the kids can walk or carpool. Westminster Street is usually a pain in the ass, but now I can make my left from Dexter almost without stopping. Oh how I loathe the schoolchildren.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SonjaM said, on 2011/07/20 at 12:23 am

    Hm, this horn will definitely go on my farkle list for my Vespa.
    I love when school’s out for summer, no soccer moms on the road for a change. However, the reason why parents these days drive their kids in front of the school’s doorsteps is, that they can get sued for neglect or abuse by their kids if they tell them to walk or take the bus to school…


Leave a Reply

