Scoot Commute

Scary storm in Providence

Posted in Utter nonsense, Weather by sbahn on 2011/06/09

I didn’t have to deal with this as I was off to work before we got the call. But this is the backyard of one of the houses. The boyfriend really worked hard today.

Downed tree in the backyard

Downed tree in the backyard

I did think about bringing the camera with me when I left because the storm last night ripped the leaves off the trees and the street was splattered with branches, leaves and garbage. It was garbage night last night and the wind wreaked havoc on the stuff in recycling bins.

There's a garage underneath there somewhere

There's a garage underneath there somewhere

Trees were down across major streets in my neighborhood in Providence. A cop car was parked across Elmwood Avenue waiting for DPW to come clean up the mess. Once I crossed over Atwells Avenue, it was as if I entered into a different city.

I don’t know how people live in tornado alley. I was so scared last night.

I particularly love this picture from the Providence Journal. I hope someone cleans up the trash but I doubt it considering that particular street.

South Providence after the storm (courtesy of ProJo)

South Providence after the storm (courtesy of ProJo)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pepper said, on 2011/06/10 at 9:00 pm

    wow………We had intense lightening but nothing like you had in Providence.

  2. […] got through this storm basically unscathed, which I only see as fair after the destruction of the June storm. Hurricane Irene's havoc on Harkness Street, Providence, […]


Leave a Reply

