Scoot Commute

Lack of posts doesn’t mean the drivers have miraculously gotten better

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/06/06
Self-portrait Buddy ... one day I'll remember to turn off the flash before leaving work

Self-portrait Buddy ... one day I'll remember to turn off the flash before leaving work

Maybe I’m mellowing? I have a new attitude to the commute. If you’re doing something stupid, I will ride around you. If you appear to be unpredictable, I will ride around you. If you’re on the phone, texting, smoking up, I will ride around you. I’m tired of being behind someone going 20 mph or sitting at a green light or obviously paying attention to any thing else besides driving. I’m done with you. When I’m riding to work, I just want to get there. I don’t want be part of your mosey-along-tour of Providence. Get out of my way and let me get to where I want to go.

Franz Biberkopf, a Genuine Buddy scooter, in Scituate, Rhode Island

Franz Biberkopf, a Genuine Buddy scooter, in Scituate, Rhode Island

This has been working remarkably well for me. I’m getting to work faster and less frustrated. I’m getting home faster and less frustrated. I’m even getting out of the city during “rush hour” when I want to go for a little joy ride less frustrated. If only I didn’t have to worry about getting a ticket…

On a completed unrelated note, what is with the recent lack of waving to the Buddy? Huh? The latest crop of new riders don’t realize that while I may be a mere scooter, I have to deal with the same crap they do, but do it without a suspension and on 10 inch wheels. And to the old dude on the Harley on Elmwood Ave, it’s a good thing I didn’t have any liquid in my mouth or I would have spit it out all over the inside of my face shield. You know what I mean.

Where, oh where, is the RI/CT ADV tag?

Where, oh where, is the RI/CT ADV tag?

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keith said, on 2011/06/08 at 8:03 pm

    Yep, that was exactly what I was thinking, “Hmmmm, no new Scoot Commute posts . . . this must mean that Rhode Island drivers have miraculously gotten better.” :)

    Joking aside, somewhere in my commuting past it occurred to me I wasn’t going to change other drivers and I might as well make avoiding situations as gracefully as possible part of my riding style. That said, I’m still disappointed there isn’t room for a Stebel horn on my Symba :)

    Thanks for the share,
    ~k


Leave a Reply

