Scoot Commute

Oh my god, this is the boyfriend’s commute?

I don’t even know where to begin. Ok, let’s start with the mild stuff.

I rode the DRZ today because, well, the weather was predicted to be awesome (which it was). I pulled onto campus and the Victory was in my spot. Wali, the security guard on duty, called me over. He was very upset.

“Someone is parked in your spot. I’m sorry.”

“No worries, Wali. That’s Dennis from IT’s bike. It’s ok. He’s a good guy.”

“Yes, but he shouldn’t have parked in your spot. And you know what? The Lieutenant let one of the guys who works at the power plant onto campus to park his bike down there. So I think you should be able to park right outside your building.”

I laughed, and said, “I don’t want the Major or the Lieutenant getting upset with me. It took enough to convince the Major to allow bikes on campus at all. Plus, I like parking in the big lot because it’s close to you guys and I know you watch out for me.” This is the same guy who uprighted the scooter after it fell in the rain storm. He really is the nicest guy in the world.

He agreed that it was smart to have it close to the security guys, so I pulled into my regular “I brought the big bike” area which is where I park the Vespa or DRZ.

Elsa the DR-Z400SM and Kaiju the Honda Transalp at the Cranston REI

Elsa the DR-Z400SM and Kaiju the Honda Transalp at the Cranston REI

When I was getting ready to leave for the day, I IM’d the boyfriend and asked if he wanted to meet at REI (I know, again!) because I had to pick something up (why don’t they carry ‘tall’ sizes in the stores?). I took my usual back route to Route 2 which takes me through the Silver Lake neighborhood in Providence. It’s funny, because people think the neighborhood I live in is the shitty area of the city. As I was riding through Silver Lake, I’m thinking, “Man, it’s crappy over here.” Then I stopped myself. But it is really crappy.

I’m just taking off my gloves and I hear the dulcet tones of a Transalp pulling into the parking lot. How’s that for timing?!

Back on the road, we head north on Route 2/Reservoir Avenue toward Providence. It’s two lanes in both directions, some of it divided by a tiny jersey barrier, but most of it suicide head-on collision.

Let me tell you. It was so much fun, I was screaming and laughing and swearing at the complete insanity that was the driving experience. From the old lady that never looked as she merged near Garden City (um, lady, there’s TWO motorcycles in this lane, not just one) to the red Navigator who didn’t want to merge and drove in the sand and trash of the shoulder and then swerved recklessly into the second lane, almost flopping over because it had two different tire sizes on the rear axle, to the “hey dooooooooot” guy in the lowered Honda who kept cutting across both lanes like he’s Mika Häkkinen until he just kept going through a red light ‘cos, hey, why not?

I’d say the entire ride was 4 miles. At the light near the Spikes Junkyard Dogs, I screamed over, “Is this normal? This is freaking insane!” to which the boyfriend responded, “Now you understand why I leave late?”

Naturally it got even more crazy once we crossed the line from Cranston into Providence. Random stopping to let cars cross four lanes of traffic. Creeping along at a snail’s pace because you’re texting. Darting out from the curb from in front of Fernandez Liquors because well, aren’t the other drivers paying attention?

I couldn’t stop laughing when I got off the bike in the driveway. I don’t know how the boyfriend is still sane. I really need to stop complaining about my ride to and from work!

Leave a Reply

