Scoot Commute

Rukka to work and REI stalker

Posted in Gear Review, Jackets by sbahn on 2011/05/21
Sporting the new-to-me Rukka jacket

Sporting the new-to-me Rukka jacket

My long-suffering boyfriend acquired a new-to-me Rukka jacket with the APR armour. So now I get it. This thing is amazing. It weighs a ton when I pick it up, but wearing it, it just melts away. The armour is so freaking comfortable that as I’m riding up River Ave on my way to work, I thought, “Man, this thing doesn’t have a back pad? Why would he send me off to work without a back pad?!” I tend to duck down a bit when going up River because the angle is so steep. When I get to the top of the hill, I reach around behind me and yes, indeed, there is a back pad. Sheesh, this air power stuff is the bee’s knees.

I really cannot get over how soft and flexible the jacket fabric is. It’s the same Cordura that my AST (500D) and Corazzo (1000D) are made from, most likely 500D with higher denier on the ballistics, but it’s sooooo soft, bendy. The zip is thick and easy to get up and down, and the snaps are easy to close and open and are smartly placed. This is what truly top-notch, blindingly expensive gear is all about. Thumbs up eBay! Even the velcro at the neck makes sense. It grabs and holds, not like the AST’s poorly executed neck closure (it drives me crazy!). And I love that I can get my gloves under the sleeves.

My only complaint? The pockets are poorly placed, a bit too high for my liking.

The sad part? It’s just too big. I’m trying to convince myself it’s not too big. I went for a ride today with a t-shirt, my insulated jacket and the riding jacket, and even with the waist cinched as tightly as it can go, it was moving around some. The bright side is I now know what size I need in a Rukka jacket. I’ll wear it a bunch more times to really convince myself that it’s not going to work. But it’s just so nice. With my thin winter jacket, it was comfy warm on the highway. Without the liner, it let in just enough air on the slow roads to make me comfortable. Those Finns…how have they not taken over the world?

On a completely unrelated note, both of us were at REI last night doing some shopping at the anniversary sale. Apparently bringing a list with you is weird. Four employees asked me if I was carrying a list, to which I responded, “Of course. Why wouldn’t I?” I gathered it was unorthodox from the reactions I received. Whatever. I wanted to be sure I didn’t forget anything and I didn’t want to be sidetracked and roped into something I didn’t need/want.

As we’re standing contemplating an item, a guy who is standing nearby looking at backpacks says, “You’re the scooter people?” Man, what IS it about us? Turns out it was a guy who saw a post I made on advrider. My favorite thing about the innerwebs is the ability to be anonymous which is why I don’t use Facebook (I want no part of those idiots from high school which is why I went screaming and running away when I was 18). But it’s difficult to be anonymous when you live in little Rhody. This is the second time in less than a month that I’ve been tracked down by a fellow ADV’er. The weird part about the REI encounter is that we were in the car (horrors I know!) so we weren’t wearing gear. I guess it doesn’t help, me being tall. If you like tall, there’s a German chick who works at the REI who has inches on me.

Turns out the guy is cool and turned us on to some riding areas we didn’t know about. He rides a DR200 and some sportbike thing (I really cannot keep sportbikes clear in my head save for, that’s a CBR, that’s a GSX-R, and that isn’t) and is learning to accept being slow. Little bikes melt hearts.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tina Ingle said, on 2011/06/01 at 8:58 am

    Glad you’re enjoying your Rukka jacket with the APR armour featuring CORDURA® brand fabric!
    Account Manager
    CORDURA(R) brand
    423-877-9383


Leave a Reply

