Scoot Commute

Stupid Rhode Islanders who can’t drive

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/05/19

I haven’t written anything about the commute in a while because it’s been pretty quiet. Most of the potholes have been filled (except the ones on my street because why would DPW give a shit about a tertiary ressie street anyway in a neighborhood with low voting numbers), the traffic is a bit lighter as the colleges and universities are finishing up and students are leaving town, and the weather has been rainy for almost 40 days and nights so I think people are paying a bit more attention.

Yesterday I’m riding back home after work. I make my left onto Eagle Street from Valley. The street is narrow and grows into two lanes in both directions. There’s a traffic light where people turn left from the other direction to pull into the Eagle Square shopping center.

I always get in the left lane because it turns into a “left turn only” lane at the next light just up the street where I turn onto Atwells Ave. There were about 5 cars in the right lane; none in the left. As I made my turn onto the street, the light turned green and I kept on the throttle. Then I noticed that none of the cars in the right lane were moving, and that there was a car about to turn left across my lane in front of me.

“Oh no you don’t,” I thought to myself as I turned my head to scream at the idiot at the head of the pack of the right lane who took it upon himself to ignore traffic conventions and make up his own rules. I laid on the horn, watched the car wheels of the car making the left come to a halt, and proceeded, following accepted driving rules, through the intersection safely.



Why? Why? Why do Rhode Islanders think it’s “nice” to let a car make a left on a green light, violating the right-of-way driving rule? Why? It is so unsafe, dangerous, and frustrating. For the wave? Are you really that empty that your day is made by putting other drivers in danger so you can get a ‘thank you’ wave from the guy making the left? Grrrr.

The boyfriend says it’s because they don’t actually know the rules of the road and do what they see other drivers doing. I didn’t have to take the driving tests in Rhode Island, but I cannot imagine how simple they must be. It makes me want to quit my job and become a driving instructor.

Leave a Reply

