Scoot Commute

Friday commute on the Buddy

Posted in Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/05/07
Sprague Street pothole neatly filled

Sprague Street pothole neatly filled

Providence has an online form you can complete to notify DPW about potholes. When I arrived home on Wednesday evening, I promptly submitted the form on several potholes from my ride home, noting major potholes on Eagle Street at Kinsley, Sprague Street, and two on my own, small residential street.

Friday morning as I turn onto Sprague, what do I see before me but a large red truck and three guys standing around. To my absolute astonishment, Providence DPW was filling in the huge pothole that practically straddled the entire street. (See my previous post about this particular pothole.)

Genuine Rattler and Buddy scooters on campus

Genuine Rattler and Buddy scooters on campus

When I left my office, I saw that Hollywood, one of the security guys at work, had ridden his Rattler in to campus. Even though he was really, really busy as many parents were coming onto campus to pick up their students after finals, he still had time to pose for a portrait. Hollywood is such a nice guy.

Hollywood with his Rattler and custom helmet

Hollywood with his Rattler and custom helmet

I stopped for gas on the way home. It was $4.09/gallon at my cheap place. The amount on the pump before me was $60. One of the guys at work was telling me about his new Prius and how he’s only filling it up once a week for his long commute. He’s getting about 51mpg. I laughed and said I fill up about every week and a half and I’m getting about 80mpg. He retorted that he’s warm in the winter. My reply was I don’t need a shrink.

Filling up the Buddy

Filling up the Buddy

Another self-portrait with Buddy from my ride home

Another self-portrait with Buddy from my ride home

Leave a Reply

