Scoot Commute

The 58 mile commute home

Posted in Daily Commute, Pleasure Ride, Suzuki DR-Z400SM (Elsa) by sbahn on 2011/05/03
Suzuki still life with stone wall

Suzuki still life with stone wall

My commute is just shy of 4 miles each way. I was planning on grabbing the ADV tag today after work because the Buddy is still down for the count and I rode the DRZ today. But some schmuck did that for me and dragged it back over the CT border. I’ll let one of the Connecticut bums grab it.

The weather was getting pretty crappy as I was leaving work. Cloudy, chilly, foreshadowing the nasty rain that’s expected the next two days. If I was going to get a mid-week ride in, this afternoon was the day. I decided to head out toward the Barden Reservoir in Foster, Rhode Island (that’s Fawwwstah for you non-native speakers).

Stone wall with DRZ400SM, beauty in nature

Stone wall with DRZ400SM, beauty in nature

Can I just ask, what is the deal with the Connecticut drivers on Route 6 West? Sheesh, slow down. Everyone knows the cops hang around the section where it slows to 30mph. I was keeping up with traffic, running 44mph according to my speedo, following diligently behind the cars in front of me, and still people are glued to my ass or passing on the right. Are you really in that much of a rush to get back to Connecticut?

Anthony Road, Foster, RI ... why is this road closed?

Anthony Road, Foster, RI ... why is this road closed?

I found some little dirt roads around the reservoir. One that shows as going straight through on the map had a large pile of dirt at either end of a little bridge. I went around the mound, over the bridge, and then around the second mound. There was a sign on the other side that looked like it had been there for years that hawked “Road closed”. But it was fine. It’s Anthony Road in Foster.

I rode along Ram’s Tail Road and saw some nice fiddleheads. I love ferns. They’re so prehistoric looking with their weird little curly cues and seeds on the bottom of the leaves. I’ve never eaten them but they used to sell for a boatload and a half of cash at the Union Square Farmer’s Market in New York.

I then rode along Round Hill Road which turns into Ponagansett Road. Right before I crossed over onto Ponagansett, a huge tree trimming truck turned onto the road headed toward me. The cab was jammed with three burly guys, one wearing a hi-viz t-shirt (always fashionable, those tree guys), and they all gave big smiles and waves because they knew what I was up to.

Fiddleheads near Barden Reservoir, Rhode Island

Fiddleheads near Barden Reservoir, Rhode Island

I passed by a sweet little farm with sheep on either side of the dirt road. They had full roam of the screaming green grass. In one section there was even a black sheep. I didn’t get any pics because I didn’t want to stop with the engine and all that and scare them. I love sheep. They make great lawnmowers and I would have a couple in the city if I could figure out how.

Distraction while taking the long way home

Distraction while taking the long way home

Eventually I wound up on Isthmus Road. I love this little road. There’s never any traffic and it’s got gravel and mud and hills and twists and blind downs on a hill and all sorts of good practice type riding.

George Washington Road, the angle never tells the true story

George Washington Road, the angle never tells the true story

This time I finally got to try George Washington Road, off of Old Plainfield Road. I thought it went all the way through, and I guess it sorta does because you could get a car up the road, but I don’t know if normal people would drive a car up it. The road starts off all normal dirt with woods and then ends in a big cul-de-sac with one house. There is a road strewn with boulders that leads up to another cul-de-sac. Since my directions had me on George Washington, I headed up the boulders with no problem. I could see where others had gone before me and picked a nice line.

This led me out to Field Hill Road where I passed a baseball field. The dad who was umpiring behind home plate actually stood up and looked at me. Dude, you’re in the middle of a game. Pay attention.

My map had Field Hill Road going all the way through to Route 12. But I came to a gate with a sign screaming that this was part of the Providence water supply and it would be very, very bad if I trespassed. On the one hand I thought, “Why the hell not? What DEM employee is around this time of day?” On the other hand, I’m wearing hi-viz so if anyone was out looking, I’d be seen fairly easily as the trees are still bare. Plus I’m just a good girl. We’ll see, maybe one day I’ll be out polluting my water supply.

Barden Reservoir

Barden Reservoir

As I crossed over into Providence where Route 10 connects in with Reservoir Avenue, the stupidity started. Idiots texting and driving slowly and then into another lane, making random turns, passing in the turning lane, grrrrr. Why is it that people drive so stupidly in Providence? Stop texting. No one cares what you have to say. You and your moron boyz are a pain in the ass.

I pulled up into the driveway and the boyfriend was just getting off the /5. Talk about timing. I must have just been that little bit behind him as he took Reservoir Ave home as well. After we put the bikes to bed, he finished up the oil change on the Buddy. It’s supposed to rain for the next two days and I prefer commuting on the scooter. It has dry storage and easier handling.

All in all, my 4 mile commute home turned into 58 miles. Schweet.

I am my father's daughter...I love the woods

I am my father's daughter...I love the woods

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pepper said, on 2011/05/04 at 6:44 pm

    I love your blog. The pictures are great. I am jealous…..I would love to ride through the woods on a motor cycle….so much fun. Hope to see you soon. XXXXXXXX


Leave a Reply

