Scoot Commute

Why my Buddy is cooler than a sport bike

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/04/11

As I’m walking out to the scoot this evening, two young women are in front of me, blathering on about this, that and the other. Honestly, I wasn’t paying attention; I really only noticed them because their pace was slow and I couldn’t get around them.

I notice that there’s a friend next to the Buddy; a shiny blue Yamaha FZ-something (I can’t keep all the numbers straight, and if it wasn’t blue, I wouldn’t have even remembered it was a Yamaha). It was a nice-looking bike with a matching blue tinted windshield. The girls walk by both two-wheeled vehicles and one of them says, “Ohhhhh, look at the scooter. I would love a scooter.” “Aha!” I thought to myself. “I finally get it. Sportbikes are for the guys to impress the guys. Scooters are for guys to get the girls.” I know, it took me this long to figure that out.

Anyway, because it was warm, I saw three bikes on the ride home; all of them sport bikes. One was blue and two were red. Pathetic, I know. I can tell you the year of a Lammy by a quick look at the fender but I can’t even tell the marque of sport bike.

The first was the Yammy at school.

The second was on Pleasant Valley; the guy was fully geared and riding conservatively.

The third was on Broad Street at the Elmwood split; a helmet-less male rider with a tiny little female crouched on the back.

And why is the Buddy cooler? Because I leaned it into a curve so tightly that the goalie at the lacrosse practice at Classical turned around and just stared. And I did it with 2 containers of cat litter on the floorboard.

Leave a Reply

