Scoot Commute

Providence Police Motocops: Aren’t your faces freezing?

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/02/24

Yesterday morning as I turned onto Elmwood Avenue, three Providence Police motorcycle cops were riding by. It was coooooold, about 12°F, and the three riders were all wearing blue half helmets with ear flaps and balaclavas. I hope those balaclavas were made out of Gore Windstopper or they’re getting some serious wind/cold face burn.

I don’t understand why they don’t wear flip-up helmets. I’ll gladly chip in to help them buy some if it’s finances. But more than likely it’s some stupid department reg going back to the dark ages and intended to allow the cops to kibbitz with the common man instead of scaring the pants off children with a full-face. Hey Providence Police, there are these things called flip-up helmets that are DOT and/or Snell approved that provide maximum face and head protection to our officers but with the schmoozing-with-the-public convenience of a half helmet. Buy some already. Sheesh. Poor guys are freezing their nostril hairs!

Otherwise, uneventful commute. I had to go to RIC in the evening and got my traditional rock star parking. No one tried to cut me off, not see me, turn in front of me. I love commuting in the winter!

Leave a Reply

