Scoot Commute

Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2011/02/04
Riding home on an icy, slushy, slippery Providence street

Riding home on an icy, slushy, slippery Providence street

I’m sick and tired of driving the Fit to school. There’s nowhere to park on campus. When I do finally find a spot, it’s a very long walk, which I wouldn’t mind except the parking lot is a sheet of ice. I’m terrified I’m going to fall and break a wrist and then I won’t be able to ride for weeks.

I get stuck behind idiots who don’t know how big their cars are and won’t go around parked cars but stop and wait for oncoming traffic to pass even though they could easily get through. This morning I was behind a mini-van (why is it always a mini-van) who stopped dead waiting for the exceedingly long line of oncoming traffic to pass. I easily passed between her truck and the parked car; it was as wide as the gulf between the Israelis and the Palestinians. Good thing I was on Franz and not in the Fit.

I actually had to stop and get gas on the way home. Talk about getting stared at! And I was worried getting out of the station and back onto Broad Street but the drivers backed up on Broad were all very cool. I think they think I’m completely bonkers.

Can you see me?

Can you see me?

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keith said, on 2011/02/04 at 7:06 pm

    I suspect you did get the looks LOL

    It’s great isn’t it? I love the astonished look . . .
    I even like the shaking head.

    Be safe! You may want to get some Heidenau Snowtex tires if you are going to be crazy and ride in the stuff.

    ~k

  2. sbahn said, on 2011/02/04 at 7:10 pm

    Don’t encourage the snow tires. I keep asking my boyfriend about chains. “Wouldn’t chains do the trick? How much clearance would I need for chains?”

    Well that and “Are there any hacks for sale?”


Leave a Reply

