Scoot Commute

You didn’t ride today?

Posted in Honda Fit by sbahn on 2011/01/13

It snowed yesterday in lovely southern New England. A lot of snow. I don’t know how much, but it was a lot. And not nice, fluffy, light snow. Heavy, soggy, wet snow. The kind of snow that makes your arms burn shovelful after shovelful.

School was closed. It’s inter-session anyway, so it’s easy for the provost to cancel classes as there are only a handful that run between the traditional fall and spring terms. Plus everyone from the governor on down to the mayor of Providence was begging people to stay off the roads.

I don’t know how much snow we got. It didn’t seem like an exceptional amount, but after navigating the poorly plowed Providence streets this morning and again this evening, I guess we did get a lot. Hey Angel, the plowing on even the major secondary roads is atrocious. Where were the salt trucks and the plows today when the sun was starting to melt the snow-strewn streets?

I pull onto campus after a visit to the periodontist (more on that later), slowing to wave to the  security guy in the little guard shack, making sure he knew who I was as most of them don’t know my car, and he actually stops what he’s doing, and makes a gesture along the line of “You drove? A car? Where did the car come from?” It’s a good thing I wasn’t drinking coffee as it would have come out of my nose.

When I was leaving campus tonight, I purposely took my more complicated route that uses a lot of tertiary streets to decide if I would ride tomorrow. Sadly, it’s another day in the Honda Fit. It’s nice to have Morning Edition and music on the ride home, but there’s no challenge. I did try slipping and sliding the Fit around a bit, which was fun, but it’s really not the same when surrounded by front and side airbags.

After I got home, I was putting out the recycling and I hear “brrrrapppppp” from the next street over. Some fool is out riding a dirt bike on the hard-packed snow and ice covered streets. I then see a Providence police cruiser coming down my street hit the gas, fly over the now hidden speed bump, and pull a left at the end of the street, presumably on the hunt for the wayward dirt bike. (Think about it: a dirt bike in a poor neighborhood in the city is most likely not registered nor insured and the rider is most likely unlicensed. But come on cops, let the guy have some fun!)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rollie said, on 2011/01/13 at 6:06 pm

    For some reason this made me think of those times you were stuck in the car with my incessant blathering. :)

  2. sbahn said, on 2011/01/13 at 6:12 pm

    As you know, in the morning, no one can talk to me…the afternoon, I can handle it. But I need my Morning Edition!

    I do miss you Rollie!


Leave a Reply

